Tony O'Connell Photography Reviews

15 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Worth every penny

Hi tony just wanted to say what a brilliant day today came this morning not real...more

See all reviews

Buy a voucher

About

About

Tony O'Connell Photography

I am a practicing photographer and I love to share my passion with others to help them to take better pictures.

These informal, creative and fun courses offer learning in bite-sized chunks with plenty of time to practice and ask questions. I avoid technical jargon and concentrate on good picture taking. Groups are small (usually 6 max) to enable individual attention.

Share your opinions

Write a review

Course review summary

15 reviews

(87%)
(7%)
(7%)
5 5
Tony O'Connell Photography

Average student ranking

Course reviews at this provider

tony-o-connell-photoography
Worth every penny
5 5
Hotcourses
Digital Photography Starter
by Pat - February 2016

Hi tony just wanted to say what a brilliant day today came this morning not really knowing my camera but with your relaxed way of teaching and not talking too technical I came away knowing my Camera now .you do an amazing job and I felt that you gave each of us your individual attention as it was needed .so now I have to put it all to the test now will be back up to the abbey this summer to take some pics . So thank you once again for an AMAZING !!!!!!! DAY .pat

Was this review helpful? Yes No
tony-o-connell-photoography
Excellent day!
5 5
Hotcourses
Digital Photography Starter (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Lauren - July 2015

From start to finish this was a very good experience. Tony was extremely helpful in answering my questions pre-booking and the in the run up to the course. The day itself was very relaxed and enjoyable and we both learnt a lot that we are already putting in to practice. Tony very kindly allowed me to use one of his cameras during the course as I don't yet have my own dslr, although I have now been able to find the same manual settings on my advanced compact camera. The setting for the course is wonderful and the refreshments equally so. You definitely won't go hungry. Highly recommended! Thank you very much Tony for an excellent day.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
tony-o-connell-photoography
Thoroughly enjoyable
5 5
Hotcourses
Digital Photography Starter (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Christine - April 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. It was well taught and structured but at the same time friendly and relaxing. The group was small so you had individual attention all day and were able to ask questions at any time. The setting was delightful and the food very good. I would recommend this course for anyone wanting to learn the basics of photography in a relaxed and informal way.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
tony-o-connell-photoography
Excellent course
5 5
Hotcourses
Digital Photography Starter (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Andrew - December 2014

Not altogether a novice, I attended Tony’s ‘Digital Photography Course' in November and found it extremely helpful. Tony engages his ‘students’ with a very clear teaching style, recognising and addressing individual needs and the vagaries of different cameras. We explored our cameras together, unravelling the mysteries of the little buttons and how to use them before moving on to the basics of apertures (f numbers), shutter speeds and ISO settings. Although I already understood much of this, what I found particular valuable was the overview that brought together these aspects to explain how to use the camera in order to control the character and quality of the image. I am no longer so much of an aim and shoot person but more an intelligent photographer! The course was conducted in a very relaxed fashion, in a very agreeable setting and with plentiful sustenance! Tony’s course was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
tony-o-connell-photoography
Digital photography starter
5 5
Hotcourses
Digital Photography Starter (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Pat - December 2014

This was an excellent day in lovely surroundings. I learnt a great deal about my camera and would certainly be interested in any further courses.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
tony-o-connell-photoography
To the point...does what it says on the tin!
5 5
Hotcourses
Digital Photography Refresher (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Malcolm - November 2014

This was an excellent refresher course addressing my personal learning needs which were discussed at the start of the day. The venue was excellent with ample photo opportunities which allowed us to transfer the skills from the classroom into a practical photo-shoot in the beautiful surroundings of Bolton Abbey. Tony is a true professional and nothing was too much trouble. Refreshments and lunch were top notch! Overall.....an excellent course!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
tony-o-connell-photoography
Highly Recommend the Course
5 5
Hotcourses
Intensive Digital Photography One to One (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Naman - September 2014

Increased my knowledge and understanding substantially. Highly recommend anyone who's looking to improve their photography skill set to make a booking.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
tony-o-connell-photoography
Tony O'Connell Photography course
5 5
Hotcourses
Master Your Digital Camera (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by BEVERLEY - June 2014

I would just like to say that it was a wonderful course. Very imformative and delivered in a way that I could understand. It has given confidence to use my camera on manual and take control of the photographs I wish to take. The 2 days were a pleasure to attend, very informal but constructive. i learnt a great deal and would recommand this course very highly. Thank you Tony for a great weekend of learning.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
tony-o-connell-photoography
NO COURSE
1 5
Hotcourses
I've Got A DSLR - HELP! (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Mike - May 2014

After booking received phone to cancel course, only myself had applied. Now booked onto course in June, still awaiting confirmation.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
tony-o-connell-photoography
Tony O'Donnell Photography Course
5 5
Hotcourses
by Christine - May 2014

The subject was taught in an informal and friendly environment. Good teaching techniques which made the subject easy to understand. Tony was a patient tutor who took time and trouble with his students to ensure they had digested thebasics of the subject. I am waiting for another course to look at computer use of Adobe and other photographic techniques and other specialist parts of photography such the use of flash and different lenses etc.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1-10 of 15 results