Morley College Reviews

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

201 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

A course ideal for University entrance Eric July 2017

I Chose to study at Morley as, being a South Londoner, it was my local college. ...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Course provider overview

    • Provider Overview
    • Get course info
    • Photo gallery

Share your opinions

Write a review

Morley College Reviews

201 reviews

(71%)
(18%)
(3%)
(2%)
(5%)
4 5
Morley College

Average student ranking

morley-college
excellent introduction to filmmaking
5 5
Hotcourses
by Severine - June 2017

This course gives an excellent first springboard to filmmaking technique and offers easy first hands-on basic recording's equipment. The tutor is excellent, approachable and communicates with enthusiasm his passion.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
A course ideal for University entrance Eric July 2017
5 5
Hotcourses
Access to HE: Humanities
by eric - July 2017

I Chose to study at Morley as, being a South Londoner, it was my local college. Friends had studied there over the years and their experiences were invariably positive. I had also taken short courses and liked the way the courses were run and the general feel of the place. The other students on my course, however, came from all over London and, having looked at the quality of access courses available had chosen Morley. Academically the course could not be faulted. I started from a rather low base, my last experience of higher education having been in 1968.I was obviously facing a steep learning curve, but the Study Skills tutorials under Ronit were invaluable in starting me on the path to academic writing had been a daunting prospect at first. The tutors in History, Philosophy and Literature were all very different characters but shared not only a deep knowledge of their subjects but an ability to covey and infect the students with their passion. The form the tutorials took continued this theme with us all being encouraged to contribute and voice our own opinions and interpretations of the topic being discussed. These factors made it a pleasure to be on the course. My fellow students varied in ability, age, ethnicity, gender and previous life experience but everyone was encouraged to make their mark as part of the group. Help and advice was forthcoming whenever it was needed and we were all guided successfully through the somewhat confusing UCAS application process. A year ago the prospect of the course ahead, never mind the possibility of University, felt very daunting to me but I am now looking forward with confidence and pleasant anticipation to starting my History degree at Birkbeck in the autumn. I am grateful to Morley and the tutors on my course for not only enabling me to make this big step in my life but to make it such an enlightening and enjoyable experience and one that will stay with me always.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Enthusiastic and skilled teaching
5 5
Hotcourses
by Kim - July 2017

I got a huge amount out of my two years with Paul Kemp. He has boundless energy and enthusiasm and patience! The course covered a wide range of subjects, something for everyone, and gave us opportunities to experience the work behind exhibiting our work. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
A course ideal for University entrance Eric July 2017
5 5
Hotcourses
Access to HE: Humanities
by eric - July 2017

I chose Morley because many friends over the years had studied there and all spoke highly of the content of the courses and the standard of teaching. It was also local for me being a south Londoner but that was not the case for my fellow students who had all travelled from different parts of London having done their research and recognised that Morley was special. I approached the course with some trepidation as my last encounter with further education had taken place over forty years before.It was a steep learning curve for me but I came out of it with over 25 distinctions and a place at Birkbeck to read History.That result was a tribute to the three tutors in Philosophy,History and English Literature,all able to present their subjects in a way which enabled me to understand the subject well enough to write essays of the required standard in the form,unknown to me before , of academic English.That sounds adequate for an access course doesn't it?But it was also a pleasurable experience listening to tutors who knew and loved their subject and were able to share this by the way the classes were structured.Everyone was encouraged to express their views and opinions and we all learnt a lot from each other.One to one help was there if needed and the submission of draft essays was encouraged.The Study Skills sessions was a great help to everyone and we were guided through the UCAS application process very carefully. My fellow students were very varied in age,gender,ethnicity and previous attainment but we all got on well together. My only criticism would be that the decision on the obligatory 'dropping' of two modules had to be taken too early in the course. Summing up I would say that a year ago I would never have believed that I would be looking forward to starting at university with such confidence and I have Morley and the staff of the access course to thank for that.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Film making for beginers
5 5
Hotcourses
Film Making for Beginners
by Cedric - July 2017

Very good course &tutor,easy to understand instructions,it gives a good structure.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Outstanding facilities and teaching
5 5
Hotcourses
Adobe Photoshop: ACA Accredited
by Sarah - July 2017

I have recently completed the Adobe Photoshop: ACA Accredited course at Morley College and I would like to recommend this school to others that are looking to gain a formal qualification at a reasonable price. The college gives you access to the best facilities and tutors. Our tutor, Lorenzo Andreani was extremely well prepared, and helped us gaining the confidence and skills to pass the exam. Having studied in UK and US, in both private and public colleges, I can state that studying at Morley College is like studying at a private college, except for the price which is the most reasonable I have found in London. From the moment I contacted them to enquiry and enroll I was very pleased at how efficient they were. Once started the course, I was again impressed by the latest equipment available to students and the high level of teaching provided. 10 weeks later, having obtained the ACA qualification I have only praise for them and keep recommending them to friends

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Outstanding Course
5 5
Hotcourses
by Rodrigo - July 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. The digital resources is amazing. The tutor who is a photographer and experienced teacher gave me excellent support during the course and I've achieved my goals and improved my skills. I truly recommend this course.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Course went above and beyond
5 5
Hotcourses
Access to HE: Humanities
by Molly - July 2017

After not being in education for seven years I thought I would struggle with studying but Morley College went above and beyond to make a comfortable learning environment for me. The teachers are all passionate about the subjects they are teaching, therefore making the lessons engaging and exciting. I feel I have progressed massively over the course and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking about applying for university.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Access to HE: Humanities- Student review.
5 5
Hotcourses
Access to HE: Humanities
by Matthew - July 2017

Having been out of the education system for over five years, it was fair to say that prior to starting my Access to Humanities at Morley College I was a cocktail of nerves and anticipation. Many of these unhelpful emotions had previously been cemented by an overall lack of enthusiasm and quality of teaching at my previous school in Derbyshire. After enrolling at Morley however, I quickly learnt to not only no longer fear the education system, but in fact to actually enjoy and enhance myself from it. My extremely positive experience (which was consistent throughout the year whether that being the course content or the teaching quality) was ultimately underpinned by the genuine care, knowledge and enthusiasm of my teachers. Ronit Dassa, (my course tutor) and Blair Malcolm (my History teacher), truly embodied these essential qualities and through superlatives alone I cannot convey how important they were in helping me in finishing the course not only successfully, but happily. The structure of the course and its consequent delivery ran smoothly and stress was minimised due to the time and effort made by my teachers such as Ronit and Blair. Throughout the course I worked a full time professional job within the NHS and the support and consideration I received throughout my time at Morley, again only testified to its brilliance. I cannot recommend this course enough, it is by no means easy, however all the teachers will always treat you with respect and honesty and this I believe holds its weight in gold.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Digital Graphic Design The Essentials --- Great course and great tutor!
5 5
Hotcourses
by Saori - July 2017

Excellent course and the tutor, Stephen Hall is amazing! We learn a lot of different skills using Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator and InDesign as well as how we could plan and approach each tasks. Stephen prepares a lot of hand-outs and materials each week and upload to online folder so we can access from home after the class, which has been helping me a lot to catch up / practice after each classes too. I totally recommend this course those who are interested in graphic design!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1-10 of 201 results