Morley College Reviews

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

146 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Excellent all round

This course lasts a year and covers everything from flash photography - studio l...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Course provider overview

Share your opinions

Write a review

Morley College Reviews

146 reviews

(82%)
(12%)
(1%)
(6%)
5 5
Morley College

Average student ranking

morley-college
Hardwork and Perseverance always pays!
5 5
Hotcourses
Access to Social Science (Social Work / Law)
by Joy - July 2016

I am all the better for undertaking the access to social science and law course at Morley College. The tutors are good at their job, very patient and understanding. I thoroughly enjoyed all my classes. The library is adequate with friendly staff and there is support for childcare too. They arranged workshops, seminars and library membership with South Bank university. We even had a course trip to the Old Bailey as part of our Sociology of crime and deviance course and sat through a murder trial. All in all, it was a well organised course and I feel confident about going on to university. I would definitely recommend Morley College access to social science and law.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Happy & would recommend Access to Science and Biomedical Sciences course
5 5
Hotcourses
Access to Science and Biomedical Sciences
by PAUL - July 2016

Don't make mistake! There is A LOT OF WORK if you want to get merits. There is twice that much work if you want to get distinctions. This one-year course [at level three] aims at covering content which - in theory - matches a two-year A-level course. The assessment is different. Access uses portfolio-based evidence to decide the grade you will get at the end of the course. There are exams, too. Don't ask for merits or distinctions - you will get them, if your work is good enough. Tutors are fair, hard-working, kind and ready to help you, as long as it is fair for all concerned. You need to study yourself at home - tutor is not a miracle maker!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
A good year's learning
5 5
Hotcourses
City & Guilds Photography Level 2 (b)
by Kim - June 2016

Thanks Paul for your patience and genuine wish to help and encourage and see people do well. I've enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Below standard teaching at Morley costs students a great deal!
1 5
Hotcourses
by sheila - June 2016

Below standard teaching at Morley costs students a great deal! I did a course at this college and at the time it was very good. On this experience I told my daughter to attend this college to do Access to Science. However, the teaching for Access to Science was extremely poor. The teaching of the course is below standard inclusive of the leadership of the course itself is very questionable. There is lack of structure, marked assignments are not returned on time, the drafting feedback protocol is not followed leaving students in the dark with regards to guidance. My daughter had to wait on average 2 months for feedback on assignments. Maggie, the leader of the course, does not use the (VLE) Moodle to put assignments on, so students are constantly kept in the dark. The Access to Nursing teaching is equally as bad where a high number of the students have only managed to gain a pass because of the substandard teaching at Morley College. I would not recommend this college to teach the Access courses for the future, in particular because even though you have GCSEs in English and Maths the teaching is not of a high enough standard for students to gain distinctions and merits to progress to their university choice. The courses teaching for Access to HE Science and Nursing at Morley College is extremely poor and below the expected standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Loved it!
5 5
Hotcourses
by Estelle - June 2016

I've been attending Richard's printmaking sessions every Monday afternoon since January and absolutely love it. The sessions are assisted open workshops where every student can get on with their own work using the great printmaking facilities that Morley has to offer. Regardless of the technique used Richard is always on hand to do demonstrations, give you advice or feedback on your work. As a novice to printmaking, I also found the other (more experienced) students vey encouraging and helpful. I hope to be able to enrol again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Excellent course for budding professional therapists
5 5
Hotcourses
City & Guilds Level 3 Diploma in Professional Body Massage Therapy
by Graeme - May 2016

I was able to split this course over two years as I work full time so I did the theoretical Anatomy, Physiology and Pathology part last year before doing the practical part this year. In both years I have found the course material very well presented by excellent tutors who cater efficiently for a wide range of language and learning skills. I find the staff engaging and enthusiastic and very tolerant of the varying abilities of students and have made attending the course a pleasure. I do have to say that the facilities available to students at Morley college are generally good but I found the opening hours of the library and refectory do not support those mature students, like me, who are studying whilst still working full time. In all other aspects I would thoroughly recommend the course for anyone interested in pursuing a career as a professional therapist. Graeme Scott May 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Best course in London
5 5
Hotcourses
by Agata - April 2016

I would honestly recommend this course to anyone who wants to study fashion or art in the future. I have started in September last year, from the very beginning we have been encouraged to develop creativity and broaden horizons through numerous activities and. This course is suitable for anyone hesitating about what to choose as variety of subjects (like: photography, textiles, drawing and design or pattern cutting) enables to test yourself and choose the most suitable profession. Moreover, tutors are absolutely wonderful and helpful, due to them I manage to get offers from Kingston Uni or Middlesex. Although after few months I decided to change fashion for fine art, this course turned out to be still suitable and very successfully prepared me for all my interviews.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Exceptionally great course
5 5
Hotcourses
Access to Fashion
by andrew - March 2016

I have been studying at Morley since September and have now gained a place at the London College of Fashion for photography; which was my goal when I started the course. The teachers are incredibly supportive and go above and beyond what is required to support you as a student, the course is very well structured, and you learn an incredible set of skills that set you up perfectly for further education and the confidence to do so. Highly recommended course to take if you are looking to study fashion and move on to higher education.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Everyone without exception got places in reputable universities :))))))
5 5
Hotcourses
Access to Fashion
by Hwn - March 2016

I am doing the course right now and I am totally pleased with it. I'm not going to lie, this course is really demanding and you really have to make an effort to succeed, but it's really worth it. Right now, the students that were disciplined and ambitious enough to stay on the course, without exception got places in reputable universities! The tutors have been so supportive and really care about us succeeding. They are always available if you need any help and are happy to connect you with people/ outside tutors that they think of might be helpful to you as an individual if you have any special needs or interests. I also find it really great, that the course is in partnership with the London College of Fashion. Throughout the course, students had the opportunity to get the opinion and advice from LCF staff. I know that LCF is convinced of Morley's Access to Fashion course. When I went to interviews at LCF the interviewer was very impressed by the variety of techniques used in my sketchbook and made a comment about how happy LCF is about the outcome of Morley Student's work. But people also got into Ravensbourne, Middlesex, Central Saint Martins, UEL, Camberwell, Westminster and more... For me, it was the best decision to start this course, really. The whole atmosphere in the college is really friendly and supportive. I love being a student at Morley and I am so happy I got into my first choice course at LCF! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Exeptionaly great course
5 5
Hotcourses
Access to Fashion Group B
by andrew - March 2016

I have been studying at Morley since September and have now gained a place at the London college of fashion for photography; which was my goal when I started the course. The teachers are incredibly supportive and go above and beyond what is required to support you as a student, the course is very well structured, and you learn an incredible set of skills that set you up perfectly for further education and the confidence to do so. Highly recommended course to take if you are looking to study fashion and move on to higher education.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
81-90 of 146 results