Morley College Reviews

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

146 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Excellent all round

This course lasts a year and covers everything from flash photography - studio l...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Course provider overview

Share your opinions

Write a review

Morley College Reviews

146 reviews

(82%)
(12%)
(1%)
(6%)
5 5
Morley College

Average student ranking

morley-college
A Well Deserved 5* For Morley
5 5
Hotcourses
Get Ready for Spanish Stage 2
by Tamara - August 2016

Having been allowed to join Get Ready for Spanish 2 despite not having been in any previous classes, I was welcomed warmly and made to feel comfortable by my teacher and classmates, despite at times being behind on what we'd learned. I was initially worried that I would struggle to concentrate for two hours, but Adriana our teacher took time to go through exercises at a great pace and the lessons were broken up perfectly with learning and practice. I felt engaged and supported throughout. I've recommended learning at Morley College to several friends (as I'd heard about it via recommendation also) and look forward to coming back to study in future. Thank you for having me!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Accessible, high quality teaching
5 5
Hotcourses
by Tom - August 2016

Having enjoyed several of Philip Hunter's philosophy classes at Morley College, I cannot recommend them highly enough. Phil is exceptionally knowledgable, and his teaching is not only carefully structured, but responsive to his classes. He aims to develop an understanding of how key philosophical texts have shaped cultures, and the way that they can be applied to the most current of questions. His classes are enjoyable and friendly, with lots of room for discussion, and totally absorbing.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
All That Jazz!
5 5
Hotcourses
Jazz Singing Workshop 2
by Irene - August 2016

This class was a continuation from Jazz SingingWorkshop 1, which I completed last year. The tutor, Laura Zakian, continued her exploration of the evolution of jazz and jazz singing through the twentieth century. As well as vocal technique, we learned idiomatic songs in the different styles, including songs based on 'rhythm changes' (the chord progression of 'I Got Rhythm', which form the basis of many well-known songs from the period), vocalese (songs with words put to previous instrumental tunes - eg as sung by Jon Hendricks), bebop and beyond - the 'beyond' becoming ever more complex!! As in JSW 1, we were encouraged to perform at least one solo during the term, which involved learning to use the microphone, 'counting in' the accompanying pianist or band, overcoming nerves, and communicating with the 'audience'. Laura Zakian is a brilliant teacher, knowledgeable, experienced, funny - and she is a wonderful jazz singer. herself. Equally brilliant is Chris Lee, who accompanies the class on piano - and can play anything, in any key!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Wonderful Course and Teacher
5 5
Hotcourses
Improve your Maths Entry 2/3
by Norma-Jean - August 2016

From I was at primary school to when I left school at seventeen I have always been very afraid of maths. But this course and it's teacher has made me not exactly love it but I now a natural respect it, I have passed my entry 2 and I would have passed my entry 3 but I made some very stupid mistakes. I have been at Morley College for 6 to 7 years and I love you will too.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Fantastic fun & with an enthusiastic & encouraging teacher
4 5
Hotcourses
Rhythm Tap General
by Julie - August 2016

I thoroughly recommend this course, and it's also good value!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
A good basic two day introduction to pattern cutting
4 5
Hotcourses
Introduction to Pattern Cutting: Tops
by Barbara - August 2016

The tutor taught us how to cut a number of different basic patterns for tops based on our own measurements. The patterns were all ones which people have been using to make tops for hundreds of years. She was a very good and clear teacher and showed us made up examples and reference books and gave us lots of information over the two days. We learned how to use a set square to get true angles and add seam allowances and how to make frills and ruffles based on our neck and wrist measurements.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Great teacher and good content
4 5
Hotcourses
French Stage 1 Unit 3
by Amy - August 2016

Being able to speak to others in French has really helped to improve my confidence and I found the content of the course easy to follow as well as challenging. Sylvia made sure each lesson was different in structure and that supported my learning a lot. I would definitely recommend the course to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
I loved this course
5 5
Hotcourses
Experimental Machine Knitting Workshop
by Sonia - August 2016

It was a perfect mixture of technical instruction and encouraging creativity. The machines are kept in very good order and there is plenty of yarn for students to use. I am looking forward to attending another course soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Contact improvisation is a dance form involving another, using weight and touch.
5 5
Hotcourses
Contact Improvisation 1A
by Alison - August 2016

This class is a great way to learn the basics and more, I attended two terms and became confident in my own body and working with another. I learnt many things that now enable me to join contact improvisation sessions that run all over London without very instruction. The teacher has a long record as a dancer and it is good pace to follow. Morley college is great ,I also had the opportunity to use the library for the year.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Poetry Please
5 5
Hotcourses
Advanced Poetry Writing
by Angela - August 2016

The Advanced Poetry Class taken by Sarah Wardle is inspirational. I enjoy hearing other people read their work, and the constructive feedback from Sarah and the class led to my having a collection of 40 poems published in a collaborative anthology. I always come away feeling refreshed and greatly looking forward to the next lesson! Not to mention the end of term lunch with such a warm and friendly group, and visits to the Dulwich Picture Gallery, which resulted in our poems being published on-line and in the Morley Magazine. Angela Croft

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
61-70 of 146 results