Morley College Reviews

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

146 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Excellent all round

This course lasts a year and covers everything from flash photography - studio l...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Course provider overview

Share your opinions

Write a review

Morley College Reviews

146 reviews

(82%)
(12%)
(1%)
(6%)
5 5
Morley College

Average student ranking

morley-college
Excellent skill building and practical making weekend course
5 5
Hotcourses
Jewellery: Colouring and Decorating Aluminium
by Lizzyb - August 2016

I wanted to find out more about colouring aluminium for jewellery making. This course exceeded my hopes. I came away buzzing with ideas and confident enough to add coloured aluminium to my repertoire straight away. The tutor was most supportive to participants at all levels - beginners like me and others who were honing their skills.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
And the saints come marching in
5 5
Hotcourses
by Mary Rose - August 2016

If you are unable to visit Assisi, Florence, Pisa and Rome yourself this is not only the next best thing, it is better. You sit in your chair and the tutor shows you the most wonderful slides of all these places in a close-up that you would never be able to attain if you were present, accompanied by the relevant text and an explanatory commentary.. The stories of the New Testament were never so alive.as they are sitting in the classroom at Morley College facing these beautiful murals.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
A year of sculpture
5 5
Hotcourses
by Brenda - August 2016

An opportunity to work with and explore types of materials that I have never worked with before .It provided an opportunity to enter my work into a V and A exhibition competition which gave me added confidence .I now feel that there are many materials that I could work with that previously I would not have felt within my capability.A tutor that gives great encouragement and takes a keen interest in all my projects

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Really good course
4 5
Hotcourses
Intermediate Creative Writing
by Paul - August 2016

Julie the teacher was very good and we got through a lot on the course. Reading work out was encouraged and class was supportive and open with feedback. Allow time for homework to make the most of it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Not for beginners
1 5
Hotcourses
Traditional and Experimental Tapestry Weaving
by Elizabeth - August 2016

Great if you are a professional tapestry weaver looking for cheap studio space. Not so great if you are a beginner wanting to learn tapestry weaving techniques as you will mostly be ignored.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Have fun speaking French in London!
5 5
Hotcourses
by Alan - August 2016

This course provides not only an opportunity to practice speaking French but also a space in which ideas about French society, culture and politics can be shared with a group of soul-mates whose wisdom and friendship is a on-going source of spiritual and intellectual nourishment. The course is excellently led by Lydia who never fails to provide encouragement and more than sufficient interesting subjects and reading material to challenge and stimulate our mental palettes. It has become an essential part of my (term-time) week. Not to be missed if you can speak passable French.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Fantastic teaching and facilities at a good price
5 5
Hotcourses
Jewellery Certificate: Level 1
by Joanna - August 2016

Even if you know nothing about making silver jewellery at the beginning of this course, you will be making beautiful jewellery by the end of it. I learnt a range of techniques including soldering, piercing, stone setting (bezel and flush), chain making, forming acrylic and making pieces in jeweller's wax for lost wax casting. The tutor demonstrated techniques to the group and was also available for one to one help. I found half a day per week easy to manage. There is some homework to do but it is also very manageable (keeping your technical notebook up to date, looking for inspiration and designing pieces in the final term). I found frequent trips to Hatton Gardens to purchase materials more of a drain on time, but I really enjoyed finding suppliers and understanding the range of services offered there. I highly recommend this course!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Ceramics beginners and intermediate.
5 5
Hotcourses
Ceramics : Beginners basic introduction including mixed levels
by Alice - August 2016

State of the art facilities and resources. Brilliant teachers who explain and guide you through their pre-planned projects or support you in your own ideas. They seem to know when to talk and when to leave you alone. You will be helped and motivated; stretched and inspired. Work in a group or on ypur owm. Your work is always ready and fired by the following week. Everyone has lots of good work to take home through the term. Great canteen for coffee breaks and meals , open all day and in the evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Notable performance
5 5
Hotcourses
Singers' Studio 6
by catherine - August 2016

This class is a great opportunity to overcome performance nerves in front of an empathetic audience and to learn a lot from Una, whose direct but tactful approach means we all get a lot done in a limited time.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Great learning curve
5 5
Hotcourses
Professional Clothes Making
by catherine - August 2016

This course teaches the ability to sew particular items - collars, sleeves, zips - so that they look professional. Vanda Finney has great communication skills, a good sense of humour and the patience of Job. Part of the learning curve is patience and attention to detail and the course is a must for anyone whose machining skills leave a bit (or a lot) to be desired, as mine did!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
51-60 of 146 results