Morley College Reviews

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

146 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Excellent all round

This course lasts a year and covers everything from flash photography - studio l...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Course provider overview

Share your opinions

Write a review

Morley College Reviews

146 reviews

(82%)
(12%)
(1%)
(6%)
5 5
Morley College

Average student ranking

morley-college
'a bit life changing'
5 5
Hotcourses
The Colour Course
by jez - December 2016

After the first week of the course, I returned to my studio, painted the floor and set up a clean and white space, so that I could really start to look at colour properly. Our tutor was clear and precise, and the short 4 week length of the course suited me well.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Outstanding course
5 5
Hotcourses
Web Design and Blogging With WordPress.com: Beginners
by Les - December 2016

Although a small group, the lecturer, Fiona Conn, had enthusiasm, confidence and unbounded ability. She taught a group of people with widely varying talents and abilities and expectations and by the end we were all more than able to create the WordPress blog or website that we had dreamed of. Outstanding teaching, she never once faltered or hesitated, and created a group of enthusiastic people happy to help each other and learn from each other. Cannot rate her or the course highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Web Design and Blogging with wordpress.com for beginners with Fion
5 5
Hotcourses
by Clarise - December 2016

This course helped me to understand the concept of setting up a blogging website for my business. I really feel comfortable studying at Morley College because every one I came in contact with were so helpful throughout my 11 weeks session. Thank you Morley I will be coming back soon :)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
You're better off learning Digital Graphic Design at home, from YouTube videos
1 5
Hotcourses
Digital Graphic Design: Essential Skills
by Phonepay - December 2016

Such a large amount of information delivered to complete beginners that each lessons felt like a taster, rather than a lesson as part of a course. Lessons were rushed, hardly to ask questions so little information was absorbed during the class. At the end of the day I still had to google how-to tutorial - what is the point of paying £350 for a course if I still have to google tutorials by myself? Certainly not a course for beginners as advertised. Tutor is only focused on feeding you his huge amount of information (not suitable for beginners anyway) and be done with it by the end of each class, not on making sure everyone understand what we're doing and where they are. A fast-food approach to teaching.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Finish the course with work to be proud of
5 5
Hotcourses
City & Guilds Photography Level 3
by Caz - September 2016

I have just completed my second year at Morley College, having taken both level 2 and level 3 City & Guilds photography courses. They are year-long courses, with weekly three-hour classes. The lessons were varied; in one we would learn about and practice a particular photographic technique or genre, or process digital files in Lightroom, and in the next we would share our own images in order to give and receive some invaluable feedback. The tutor is a photographer and experienced teacher, with a thorough understanding of the C&G assessment criteria, so is able to guide students towards producing their best possible work. He is happy to answer questions and is open to feedback from students – particularly in level 3 – about the kind of topics they would like to cover in class. The focus, particularly in terms 2 and 3, was very much on our own projects because this is how C&G assesses the level of each student’s work. There were some guidelines about the themes that we could choose for our projects, but they were fairly broad and I didn’t feel limited by them. In fact, in both years I was amazed at the diversity of the work that we produced and its standard, and I certainly learnt a great deal from my peers. Some of us have remained in contact and are planning monthly meetings, with visits to exhibitions, photo shoots and trips to the pub on the cards! I think it important to say that these courses demand more of the students, in terms of the work needed outside of class, than some others because, for each assessed project, there is both photography and written work to complete. It is a commitment, but one that, looking back, I certainly don’t regret. There is plenty of support available throughout, both from the tutor and from the other students, as well as the opportunity to exhibit images within college, and to finish the course with well executed and well presented project work to be proud of.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Excellent City and Guilds Photography courses
5 5
Hotcourses
by Ed - September 2016

I did the City and Guilds Level 2 and 3 courses overs two years and found them excellent. The tutor was very knowledgeable and supportive and the facilities were very good. I chose from a range of possible project themes which were assessed at the end of terms 2 and 3 following a general first term. As well as developing photographic skills for a range of purposes, skills in presenting photos were also learnt. Would recommend highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Outstanding Course provided by a wonderful team
5 5
Hotcourses
City & Guilds Level 3 Diploma in Professional Body Massage Therapy
by Guillermo - September 2016

I decided to look into doing this course to further my professional qualifications. Being visually and hearing impaired it always poses some challenges particularly when entering a new environment. When I went to meet the Health Dept team at Morley I was pleasantly surprised by the amount and quality of the assistance they provided. They are a credit to the college. The course was well structured, well supported and well delivered and the environment was excellent. I was happy and thankful to the team that not only did I pass the exam but came away with a distinction. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Well-equiped workshop and so much to learn
5 5
Hotcourses
Metal Sculpture: Beginners/Intermediate
by Amanda - August 2016

I learned a lot on this course about working with metal. The workshop has lots of equipment to weld, braze, bend, cut, and otherwise fabricate things in metal. I liked that everyone is free to work on anything they want, getting training as desired along the way. You can choose to try a bit of everything or focus on specific techniques you want to master. If you are a total beginner the teacher will give you assignments and advice to meet your goals, should you prefer to be given projects, but you are also free to bring in your own ideas to work on, asking advice from the experienced teachers/technicians. There was a good atmosphere amongst the other students; I felt very comfortable chatting with them about their work and getting feedback from them about my ideas. There were other beginners as well as very experienced students. You are also free to incorporate non-metal elements into your sculpture if you desire.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Never too old to learn
5 5
Hotcourses
Piano/keyboards 1A
by Tracey - August 2016

I've been wanting to learn to play piano for what seems like forever (and in my case that "seems" is probably accurate!). I dabbled with keyboard as a kid but decided to fight the procrastinator inside me and try and learn properly. I'm so glad I did and glad I chose Morley. Very relaxed class with Haruko my teacher, who is very patient and such an exceptional talent . I come out of the class every week feeling elated that I've learned something and eager to progress further.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Heather is a brilliant teacher.
4 5
Hotcourses
GCSE English Language
by Gavin - August 2016

I did the GCSE English course on Thursday evenings from 6pm to 9pm (plus 4 Sunday's) with Heather Johnson. I really enjoyed the course a lot. She was a great teacher. Really encouraging and a marvellous help to us all. I also really enjoyed Morley college. It has a great relaxed atmosphere. The building is very well fitted and the staff very friendly. I felt very relaxed and this helped me in getting the best I could out of my education and training whilst there.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
41-50 of 146 results