Morley College Reviews

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

146 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Excellent all round

This course lasts a year and covers everything from flash photography - studio l...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Course provider overview

Share your opinions

Write a review

Morley College Reviews

146 reviews

(82%)
(12%)
(1%)
(6%)
5 5
Morley College

Average student ranking

morley-college
A great platform for success
4 5
Hotcourses
by Alicia - September 2018

My experience with Morley College has been for some years, previously in the form of short courses which entertained me during summer holidays. I'd always enjoyed them but they were only one day and mostly fun workshops. It wasn't until this past year when I enrolled to study the Access to Humanities course that I truly understood the lengths it goes for its students. The Access to HE are 'marathons' as Ronit would say and it is completely accurate. They are tough and you need to pace yourself but mostly, you need dedication and commitment. If you have these then at Morley you will manage to find teachers who are passionate about their work and would like to see you succeed. Whilst studying at Morley I caught tonsillitis for first time which had a massive impact on my health and thus, my studies. Morley was super helpful, attentive and prepared to help me. it has a range of tools to help you outside the classroom which are well worth taking if you need them. The result was I received offers to study Liberal Arts and King's, UCL and Kent University. It was a tough year and the workload can be intense as there's a lot of essays to write from the beginning, however, with support from Morley and a commitment from myself, it was a successful year. As with any institution, it has its kinks, but the good outweighs the bad. I don't recommend the cafeteria, they are overpriced with rather abrasive staff, especially the supervisor. Their meals are hit and miss, some are good and some are really not. Best to avoid and bring your own food. This is my reason for not giving it 5*

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Fashion Department
5 5
Hotcourses
Pattern Cutting Intermediate
by Sandra - July 2018

I heard about Morley College from another student back in autumn 2015 and decided to check it out. I was completely in awe about all the courses on offer and have been a regular student since January 2016. I started with Beginners Pattern Cutting, increased to Intermediate Sewing and am currently enrolled in 5 courses including Professional Sewing Techniques, Couture Garment Construction, How To Make Your Own Block and Occasion Wear. The tutors are phenomenal and have such a broad knowledge. Teaching is both in groups but also individually depending on the project. I absolutely love coming to my classes and could be at Morley College every day!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Appalling class - cancelled on the day, emails ignored and no refund.
1 5
Hotcourses
by Pauline - May 2018

How do I give this a zero rating? All students turned up on the day for the class - one had to travel 2 hours by train to arrive. After a lot of confusion and uncertainty for 30 minutes, we were finally told that the tutor is not coming and class is cancelled. A few days later, we were emailed advising our course fee would be refunded within 14 days. It's been 25 days now and despite multiple follow up's, no one had acknowledged or replied and the refund has still not been paid. This college is a waste of time. I can't get back the time I've wasted but they don't even want to provide my refund, even ignoring my emails. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COLLEGE.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Canceled
1 5
Hotcourses
by Javi - April 2018

They just cancel the course one day before the start

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Great teacher, poor facilities.
4 5
Hotcourses
by Mike - April 2018

Patricia Robinson is a native French teacher with an engaging style. She plans her lessons well and finds time for individual students' needs. She went beyond the call of duty and organised a trip to France for group members. I couldn't have wished for a better teacher. Unfortunately, Patricia is let down by the facilities in The Oasis Academy, the annexe next door to Morley College which is used for the course. Every time she goes to use the laptop, room speakers or smartboard there is a problem whereby they don't work. IT fixed it once but it failed again at the end of term 2. Additionally, the open-plan toilets (no main door, open to the stair landing), being used by teenage boys during the day, are a stinking health hazard to be endured by passers by of both sexes.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Great course
5 5
Hotcourses
by Alex - April 2018

Great course. Really well taught. A nice mix of technical teaching as well as plenty of creative exercises. Stephen is an excellent teacher who made sure that the classes were both interesting and informative. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Excellent course
5 5
Hotcourses
by Shirley - March 2018

This is probably the best adult education course I've ever been on. It's extremely well-structured and well-paced. The course tutor is superb - clear, supportive and patient. He uses a wide variety of teaching methods in class and, after each lesson, emails videos of everything that has been taught . He could not do more to ensure everyone learns.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Great course, fantastic teacher
5 5
Hotcourses
Wood carving and Wood sculpture
by Kamila - March 2018

I've just finished the Thursday evening wood-carving classes at Morley College, and I've enjoyed it so much. It was my first wood-carving course, and I'm only doing it for fun, and I've already learned so much. The teacher, Tim Norris, is so friendly, helpful, and great at explaining the technique that I've already signed up for next term's course!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Inspirational teaching
5 5
Hotcourses
Morley Choral Society
by Philippa - March 2018

I have enjoyed singing in three different Morley College Choirs over the past five years or so, inspired by the fact that the College Choir was founded by Gustav Holst, the composer of The Planets. Morley embraces his inclusive attitude to learning, which makes singing for two and a half hours after work genuinely enjoyable. Whilst I have benefited from some wonderful teachers at Morley College the current director of Morley Choral Society, Benedict Collins Rice, is outstandingly patient as well as talented. It is a real privilege to try to sing with his direction. The choral society itself is very friendly and welcoming and new members, especially tenors and basses, are welcome at the start of each term!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Amazing course
5 5
Hotcourses
Public Speaking
by Usman - March 2018

I’ve just completed the basic Public Speaking course, learnt loads and looking forward to taking up the intermediate and advance classes too. The tutor Dominic was fab!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
11-20 of 146 results