Morley College Reviews

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

146 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Excellent all round

This course lasts a year and covers everything from flash photography - studio l...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Course provider overview

Share your opinions

Write a review

Morley College Reviews

146 reviews

(82%)
(12%)
(1%)
(6%)
5 5
Morley College

Average student ranking

morley-college
Students penalised by Morley
1 5
Hotcourses
Ceramics: Beginner and Intermediate
by Carol - February 2016

I am really enjoying the course but I do have a problem with missing a class due to industrial action - and being told there will be no refund or replacement class. The striking staff will not be paid, so the college are actually making a profit out of the strike, at the expense of the students. Staff have the right to strike (though I wish they had chosen a different day), but I do not believe the college has the right to take our fees for classes that are then cancelled.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
unstructured course and selfish tutors
1 5
Hotcourses
Access to Fashion
by Fashionista - January 2016

This course started with 30 students. It has now been a term in, and there are approximately 12. I am now a former student. The reason for this is the course is all over the place. The order in which we have been doing our project has been back to front, I have wasted a lot of time attending this course and I have learnt very little. The tutors are unhelpful, and not interested in the students success. Too much pressure is put on students to achieve well without the proper teaching put in place. This is an adult college and we are treated like children, tutors talk down on you, and make you feel inadequate. I came to this college after being out of education for a very long time, being an adult college I thought they would accommodate for an adults needs and requirements, I was very wrong. This is supposed to be a beginners course and we are put in the deep end to complete advanced seeing techniques without tutor guidance. London college of fashion should review this course and think long and hard as to whether the tutors or the curriculum stands a chance to create students fit for university. This is my honest review, and I would warn any other student wanting to attend this course to do their research. I can honestly say, leaving was the best decision I ever made

Was this review helpful? Yes No
23 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Essential Jazz Course for all
5 5
Hotcourses
Jazz Ear-Training A
by Lance - October 2015

This course is excellent for musicians of most levels but new to Jazz. Unlike classical Jazz involves far more listening - a skill that's not necessarily honed in those that just worked through their grade exams or got a bit rusty. The course takes things back to basic in a way that's easy to understand and fun. I wish I'd done this course years ago and would highly recommend it what ever you play and at any level wanting to understand Jazz.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
An about must if you are learning Jazz
5 5
Hotcourses
Jazz Ear-Training A
by Lance - October 2015

This course is excellent for musicians of most levels but new to Jazz. Unlike classical Jazz involves far more listening - a skill that's not necessarily honed in those that just worked through their grade exams or got a bit rusty. Sara Dhillon takes things back to basic in a way that's easy to understand and fun. I wish I'd done this course years ago and would highly recommend it what ever you play and at any level wanting to understand Jazz.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Not dead!!!!!
5 5
Hotcourses
Latin Stage 2 Unit 3
by Emerson - August 2015

Latin is definitely not a dead language. I have been studying Latin at Morley for the past two years and will be continuing in the coming academic year. I started the course because I had studied Latin at university many years ago and wanted to challenge myself (mainly because I was not very good at it then) I have found the course very well structured and the lessons well prepared. Ian Stone is an excellent teacher who can bring Latin back to life for us. He also links it with important / relevant facts in ancient history and classical culture. I definitely recommend it to those who are interested in learning some thing new or just revisiting Roman & Medieval Latin language and culture.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Explore the Streets of London!
5 5
Hotcourses
by Ruth - August 2015

These energetic courses are great fun and full of information! As you walk round an area with expert guides, they give you lots of interesting historical facts and visual treats. The guides choose different areas to explore for each walk and they helpfully email details of each walk afterwards. The others on the course are interesting people and there is a nice friendly atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Fun Class
5 5
Hotcourses
Dance Stretch
by Shireen - August 2015

Took this 12 week course in 2012. A great and accessible class, going through a warm up and various stretching exercises, followed by learning a short Jazz or contemporary routine. Good fun! Teacher really good and works at your pace. Was a shame that the class numbers seemed to drop off towards the end of the course.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Don't miss out..
4 5
Hotcourses
ESOL Entry 3
by Ghania - August 2015

Two outstanding points in my experience at Morley: the seriousness of the administration and the mind openness of my teacher "Nick Gilbert." I learned English while enhancing my knowledge. Really fabulous.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
morley-college
Drawing Course
5 5
Hotcourses
The Drawing Course: Intermediate
by Stefan - August 2015

The drawing course taught by Steve Wright is absolutely brilliant. Steve must be one of the best drawing (or art) teachers in the country. By focussing on different approaches each week, different aspects of drawing, different materials, different possibilities. Steve makes the course continually stimulating, and his comments on your work are always invaluable and spot-on. Also he manages the class in a very pleasant and charming way. If you want to improve your drawing and enjoy it : DO TJHIS COURSE !

Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
morley-college
Great Course - highly recommend!
5 5
Hotcourses
German Stage 1 Part 1
by Ann - August 2015

I did Units 1/2/3 of this course from Autumn 2014 to Summer 2015. The standard of teaching is very high and the Tutor always prepares the lesson topic conscientiously and provides students with a good variety of material to include all skills - reading, comprehension, conversation, listening and grammar. At the beginning of each term the students are involved in the choice of topics to include politics, literature, art, current affairs, social issues etc. Homework is offered (not compulsory!) and marked with individual feedback. The Tutor puts the lessons on Moodle which is a very useful internet facility at Morley - particularly if you miss a lesson and want to catch up. It is increasingly difficult to find a good German course at this level in Adult Education and I would highly recommend this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
91-100 of 146 results