Mary Ward Centre Reviews

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

50 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Introduction to Diet and Nutrition part 1

This is a fabulous course by Ellie Holly, herbalist and nutrition therapist. It ...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Course provider overview

    • Provider Overview
    • Get course info
    • About our tutors
    • Photo gallery

Share your opinions

Write a review

Mary Ward Centre Reviews

50 reviews

(82%)
(10%)
(4%)
(2%)
(2%)
5 5
Mary Ward Centre

Average student ranking

mary-ward-centre
Introduction to Diet and Nutrition part 1
5 5
Hotcourses
Introduction to Diet and Nutrition Part 1
by Jo - March 2016

This is a fabulous course by Ellie Holly, herbalist and nutrition therapist. It covers loads of really important issues about food and health. The pace is kept really good, I have a science degree and I was still challenged. Lots of interaction and a really lovely bring and share on the last day. Met some really lovely people too. I thoroughly recommend to everyone. Understanding nutrition is a priority for everyone and this is a great course to learn about it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
mary-ward-centre
Fantastic
5 5
Hotcourses
Lunchtime Pilates
by Olga - December 2015

Mary Ward is a lovely place to learn. Pilates tutor is very professional and caring. I love the venue too.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
mary-ward-centre
Fantastic
5 5
Hotcourses
Lunchtime Pilates
by Olga - December 2015

Mary Ward is a lovely place to learn. Pilates tutor is very professional and caring. I love the venue too.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
mary-ward-centre
Challenging and Inspiring
5 5
Hotcourses
Colour
by Sharon - December 2015

I am a relative novice in all things artistic and I wanted to challenged and stretched. The course is half a day each week, but it keeps me thinking all week. It has been very inspirational and my skills have improved hugely. The teacher has plenty of time to guide each of us. She focuses the projects so each of us is pushed to try something different and not stay within our comfort zone. I have loved this course and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
mary-ward-centre
Comfortable and Accepting
5 5
Hotcourses
by Justine - October 2015

I have been a student for many years at the Mary Ward Centre and have always felt comfortable and accepted by everyone for who I am

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
mary-ward-centre
My favourite afternoon of the week!
5 5
Hotcourses
Sculpture: Thinking And Making
by Siobhan - March 2015

I've been doing one class a week at The Mary Ward Centre for the past few years and absolutely love them! Every tutor I've had, whether for Painting, Sculpture, Collage, has created an interesting, inspiring class and with their support I've gone from nervous to confident. Sculpture Thinking and Making provides such wide scope for experimenting, for seeing your ideas realised, in a warm, friendly, supportive environment. I'm so proud of myself when I see the things I've made!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
mary-ward-centre
Great Tutor and course
5 5
Hotcourses
Abstract Painting
by Jackie - March 2015

I did do this course at Mary Ward which I found very useful and helpful towards my career change. I was amazed at how relaxed the college environment was and the tutor was friendly and easy to work with. A place where you learn without feeling like its a chore to study. I would recommend the college to anyone looking to learn and make friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
mary-ward-centre
Teachers first, students last
2 5
Hotcourses
Advanced Creative Practice in Art and Design
by higher expectations - September 2013

This course says it's the equivalent of the first year of an art degree. This puts art degrees in a poor light. It is unprofessionally managed and taught and at the end of it most people can't say they've achieved the learning outcomes because it doesn't have any. The course tries to be too many things to too many people providing an unmanageable range of motives for being there in the first place. It's hard enough when a course has unified and more singular targets. There is no consideration of student morale and achievement. The approach is teacher-led with closed feedback. If you are on time for the sessions you are penalised by having to wait for the late students. If students decide to go early you are penalised by having to plan around their wishes. In addition the teacher is very bad tempered. There was occasional and patchy good practice, to be fair. Towards the last term a great number of students didn't turn up for a lot of the time - and neither did the teacher on occasions (e.g. holding interviews for the next course in the class time we had paid for). What's worst is that you know that whatever you said in any critique it would be found to be your fault as the student that it didn't work out - the idea of teaching requiring reflective practice has no place at the Mary Ward Centre. So - a not particularly friendly place to study at unlike its tag which suggests otherwise. Whilst one can hope that there are some improvements in the following year (new students with new ideas might force a change rather than old, repeating students with no motivations to make progress), it's going to take some doing. Some attention to modern teaching practice might make a difference too.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
45 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
mary-ward-centre
Pronunciation
5 5
Hotcourses
ESOL - Pronunciation L2
by Martina - December 2012

Having finished all three stages of Pronunciation classes in Mary Ward centre, I must say, it shed light on many issues I had with English language. When you go for this course, you will find out not only how to produce individual sounds properly, how to link them together, how your body changes in order to produce required sound. You will also gain a deeper understanding of the culture which goes hand in hand with deeper understanding of the language. You will get all this extensive knowledge in a relaxing atmosphere with a friendly tutor.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
mary-ward-centre
I highly recommend the pronunciation class!
5 5
Hotcourses
ESOL - Pronunciation L2
by KH - December 2012

I just finished the pronunciation class stage 3 after having attended the stage 1 and 2 and I can highly recommend all of them. They are excellent and the teachers are very professional. Even if you think that your pronunciation is good, there is still so much to learn. And the Mary Ward centre is a nice and cosy place to go. It is very central and has a wonderful cafe serving delicious food. A good place to go after a long working day!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
1-10 of 50 results