Making Moves Confidence and Self Expression Courses Reviews

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

32 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Making moves (introductory Evening)

The two hour taster session was well worth attending and I found it to be extrem...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Course provider overview

Share your opinions

Write a review

Making Moves Confidence and Self Expression Courses Reviews

32 reviews

(81%)
(19%)
5 5
Making Moves Confidence and Self Expression Courses

Average student ranking

making-moves
Just Amazing!
5 5
Hotcourses
Express Yourself Confidence Workshop - overcome shyness and inhibitions
by Vanessa - November 2017

That overwhelming feeling of being fed up of being the quiet one and not being able to express myself and almost feeling like a fraud when I'm shy with people I don't know well. Is why I began my journey with Claire. It now feels like I'm constantly stretching my confidence like you would do if you were overweight and needed to go to the gym. Week by week I started to see progress. Stretching out of my comfort zone losing excess worries and self doubt on the way like layers of clothes. I'm so grateful for Claire and also the people that attend you really do realise that you're not in this alone others are going through similar experiences and we will overcome it together. Thank you Claire you have literally changed my life.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
making-moves
Making moves (introductory Evening)
4 5
Hotcourses
Express Yourself Introductory Confidence Building Evening
by Paul - January 2018

The two hour taster session was well worth attending and I found it to be extremely useful in itself for improving my confidence and allowing me to be more self expressive and uninhibited. It also really demonstrated to me how the method works and just how safe and encouraging the group made me feel. It definitely left me feeling confident and made me want to consider one of the longer more in depth programmes.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
making-moves
Assertiveness course with a difference
5 5
Hotcourses
Dealing with Difficult People (Confidence and assertiveness)
by Jennifer - December 2017

I signed up to the Dealing with Difficult People course as I've always had trouble dealing with difficult personality types, especially at work. I have done other courses with Claire and I like the safe and comfortable atmosphere she creates. The course explored the main difficult personality types and what motivates people to behave that way. I came away understanding some of the difficult people in my life much better as well as how my own behaviour could at tines come across as difficult. I'd highly recommend this course to anyone who finds themselves replaying events with difficult people and thinking 'I should have said this instead'. I am still using the tools I learnt in the course and I have felt a great improvement in many relationships. Most importantly I had a lot of fun and always looked forward to the session every week.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
making-moves
BreakThrough
5 5
Hotcourses
Breakthrough Group for Confidence to overcome shyness and social anxiety
by Nusaybah - September 2017

I've always known that I suffered from low self-esteem and confidence. I came to the conclusion that it was how I was made and there was nothing that could change that. When I came across this course, I was sort of coming out of one my bouts of depression. I had nothing to loose, so I knew I had to do something drastic, terrifying and different if I ever was going to get better long term. This was the perfect choice as it seemed to have everything I hate, people, drama, speaking in front of groups of people, team work... e.t.c. Well, since the course ended I've had some amazing days and not so good days but never the numbing sadness that comes with depression. I used to get social anxiety just thinking about leaving the house or doing simple errands that required brief moments of human contact. I would take time to plan ahead in terms of what I was going to say or do. I think the most important thing I learnt from this course was people are worrying more about themselves than you. I realised that even the people who seemed most confident have things to deal with and that's okay. It doesn't make you weak, rather it shows that you have courage to do something about it and there is strength in that. It makes you human. Although I knew this for myself, I learnt that other quite people have a lot more going on than what is visible. After I completed the course, I didn't think there was any change in me but then I realised something, I cared less of what people thought of me. Now, I don't even think twice about someone giving me a weird look. I've stopped planning ahead of time and have a more open minded and positive attitude when it comes to dealing with uncomfortable situations. I have a long way to go but this course is the best decision I've ever made. The exercises seem silly and you won't notice the change at first and you'll definitely want to quit in the first few sessions but if you stick with it you'll start to do things you thought you couldn't do. Everyone is in the same situation as you, so there's nothing to worry about when it comes to meeting new people. All I can say is, just give it a go. I would highly recommend this course and its worth it. Thankyou claire for all your help, you are truly a blessing to so many people. :)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
making-moves
Amazingly supportive environment for a life changing experience
5 5
Hotcourses
Breakthrough Group for Confidence to overcome shyness and social anxiety
by Megan - September 2017

After spending my life as a shy introvert I finally reached the point of wanting to change, wanting to be more comfortable with who I am as a person and being able to speak out/feel more comfortable in situations I would actively shy away from. I found this course online and it stood out from the more corporate "this is how you speak in front of people courses", the approach that Claire talked about seemed to fit well with me. I attended an introductory session even though wanted to run away, could barely speak and was rather overwhelmed - it helped me see the techniques used in the full course. I came away feeling positive and signed up for the full Breakthrough Group. My experience over the 12 weeks was amazing. Yes some of it was hard, yes I didn't always look forward to the sessions but by the end I felt a real shift starting and could see that same shift in others. The techniques used mix drama and dressing up with team work and allow you to explore how to become the person you want to be. It is a very secure environment that allows people to open up. There is no pressure (except from yourself!) and the sessions became the highlight of my week. My whole group were amazing and I've made some great friends - hearing them open up about worries and concerns and connecting with them made the experience so much easier. There seems to be nothing more comforting than to know what you feel someone else feels too. That you are not alone or weird. That you are just you. And that's a good thing. It's a work in progress but I feel myself opening up, able to share what's going on in my mind much more than before. And generally I feel so much more happy with me. I still have a long way to go but I have already signed up for my next two courses. I almost can't put into words how much this course means to me - I'm so grateful to have found it. And if you are willing to let go just a little I think it could do the same for you...

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
making-moves
Dealing with difficult people
5 5
Hotcourses
Dealing with Difficult People (Confidence and assertiveness)
by ida - September 2017

Amazing insight to the various personalities people have. Also seeing the intend that drives peoples behaviour. What I learn is that I am also a difficult person, what shift for me is that the quality of the relationship I have is my responsibility so really I have to take ownership.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
making-moves
An environment like no other
5 5
Hotcourses
I Don't Know What to Say! - Improvisation for Social Confidence
by Colin - April 2017

When I joined the course, the phrase “I don’t know what to say” was all consuming. Speaking at work and even with friends, I was so worried about myself and saying the wrong things that I became the mouthpiece to the nightmare in my head. The first few weeks were challenging and I gave into my own self-consciousness a number of times, but Claire led by example, alleviating a lot of my doubts and helping me cultivate a more blasé attitude to being around people and speaking my mind. This environment is unlike anything you will find in everyday life, and the freedom you are afforded is completely transferrable. Simply put, I give much less of a f!!! now than I did 12 weeks ago, and this is infintely more than I could have hoped for when tentatively enrolling. I would do it again without hesitation as it is easily the best decision I’ve made on my journey of self-improvement.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
making-moves
Break through course
5 5
Hotcourses
Breakthrough Group for Confidence to overcome shyness and social anxiety
by stefan - August 2016

I have been suffering from social anxiety for more than 15 years. i had tried CBT, Hypnotherapy, Other therapies, past regression therapy, anger management and went to see many psychologists but nothing really helped. all i found out from them is where my anxiety stems from and what causes it. none of them could cure my anxiety. then i did some research online and found out about social anxiety group therapies and then i decided to join making moves and give it a go. this was the best decision i ever made, for the first time i managed to face my anxiety in a safe and comfortable environment and rewire my brain to the fact that its absolutely normal to talk or perform in front of a group. its a slow and steady process but you will start to see changes in yourself and you will gain the confidence to push your comfort zone further and further. for example when i remember in my first session, i couldn't look up while talking to the group in the group discussion and all i said was two sentences and that's it. then in my second session i managed to say more and so on. i remember in my 7th session i managed to look up and talk to the group and had no problem making eye contact. by the 12th session i feeling completely confident talking and performing in front of the group. i could easily talk for 5 minutes non stop and feel completely normal. based on personal experience, my advice to anyone suffering from social anxiety is to not waste your time and money on one to one therapies but instead join a group therapy course like that offered by making moves in order to actually see some changes.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
making-moves
Loving and Deep First Steps
5 5
Hotcourses
Breakthrough Plus - overcome blocks to confidence and self esteem (2 weekends course)
by R. Bryson - February 2015

Attending a course like this can seem daunting but I, along with everyone else, was made to feel at ease almost immediately and after a few hours I was as comfortable with everyone there as I am with most friends. We all dug in very deep, with everyone eventually opening themselves in ways you won't have done at any other time in your life. Nothing was forced, support was constant and we all left wanting to come back for other courses. A fantastic start to what really is an unending journey in opening ourselves up more and embracing self expression.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
making-moves
Excellent impro courses for confidence
5 5
Hotcourses
I Don't Know What to Say! - Improvisation for Social Confidence
by Inna - January 2015

This was my second course with making moves. Really enjoyed it, lots of fun exercises and great atmosphere. Structure of the course allowed to progress gradually and achieve great results at the end effortless. We were all amused at how we managed to develop ability to be spontaneous and confident in improvising in front of the group. Highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to build confidence, improve public speaking/presentation skills or open creative side of yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
1-10 of 32 results