London College of Fashion, University of the Arts London Reviews

28 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Brilliant course

I attended this course last Christmas and it was so good it has enabled me to st...more

See all reviews

Share your opinions

Write a review

London College of Fashion, University of the Arts London Reviews

28 reviews

(89%)
(4%)
(4%)
(4%)
5 5
London College of Fashion, University of the Arts London

Average student ranking

london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Brilliant!
5 5
Hotcourses
Editorial Styling & Creative Direction
by cassie - April 2016

I did this course last summer and can honestly say it was one of the best things i've ever done and would definitely recommend it! The tutor was great, being a stylist himself meant the information he gave us was really insightful and extremely honest, in addition to this he was also extremely friendly and made us all feel really at ease, this was great as it meant we were not afraid to ask questions that we had (which in all honesty were probably quite stupid questions to someone so experienced). Everything was explained to us in an extremely accessible way, from booking models to acquiring clothes for the shoot, with this in mind I think that other reviews on this page are very unfair in regards to this as the entire process is mapped out and explained to you. During the course we did photoshoots as teams at a studio, the photographs are taken by an experienced photographer which really gives you a feel of how the set up and the relationship works between a stylist and the photographer. Again I think that comments on this in other reviews on this page are unfair as personally, and other people I was working with would agree, that this was a fantastic experience, and is as close to giving you a real life experience as it could possibly be. It forces you to work alongside other people as you would have to in industry and learn a way to make sure the finished product is representative of all your individual styles. There is a review on this page that states that this is a bad thing but personally I don't think it is as in real life it is unlikely that you are going to have sole control over everything you do, it is more likely hat you will be working for a particular client and will have to incorporate their style and needs as well as you own so this was excellent practice (I'm also unsure how group test shots could loose you a job). You also get a chance to try putting together some of your own individual looks on the day which teaches you how to be pragmatic and use what you've got to create something completely different. I would recommend this course to anyone, the course gave me confidence in this field without over glamourising the industry. If you are just starting out this is something you should definitely do as it gives you an introduction and a helping hand into this world!!! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Really Fun, Really Valuable, Sad to Leave
5 5
Hotcourses
Editorial Styling & Creative Direction
by Hana - April 2016

John William is a styling, fashion and culture encyclopaedia. He shared so much knowledge with his students over the three weeks to help build our visual vocabulary and excellently prepared us all with the practical skills to work in styling. The two shoot days were great fun but also professional and gave us confidence and knowledge to immediately provide our future employers/colleagues what they expect, rather than learning the basics on the job. I feel in a much stronger, more knowledgeable position to run my own shoots, apply for work, approach modelling agencies, photographers and PR's after studying John's course. He really cared about our learning, gave us heaps of his time, helped with CV's and cover letters, offered us all references and support down the line and was very honest with his advice. A wonderful, stimulating course that was really sad to leave! Will sign up for his journalism one next!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Amazing Course - Would Recommend To Any Creatives.
5 5
Hotcourses
Editorial Styling & Creative Direction
by Sarah-Louise - April 2016

After studying International Fashion Branding at Glasgow Caledonian Univeristy for 4 years I can honestly say that my 3 weeks of studying at LCF with our tutor has a lot more value than my entire degree. I learned what it is yactually like to work in the fashion industry and with fashion creatives such as photographers, models & of course stylists. The energy & knowledge that you get from the tutor at LCF is something that you can take away with you after you leave LCF. Our tutor gave us inside information on ways to contact fashion editors/fashion labels/photographers to work with in the future. It was really important to me to make the most out of the stylist course at LCF and I knew that my tutor could relate. Our tutor went out of his way to make sure we got the best images for our portfolio & encouraged our creativity, professionalism on set & last but not least how to to have fun and enjoy the images we were creating. From leaving LCF I have put forward the portfolio images we created to model agency's in Glasgow which has resulted in me being booked as a stylist for model test shoots, fashion shows & editorials. If you are creative, mad about fashion and have enough fire in your belly to want to make it in the fashion industry then this course is for you!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Disappointing after a good start
3 5
Hotcourses
Social Media Marketing
by H - July 2015

The course was information-rich but too short. Matthew introduced us to many new tools and new names, so it was exciting to learn new things. But he could improve on time management and tailoring the course content for his audience. He spent too much time on the luxury fashion brand Burberry's and how Salesforce helped them in their 'digital revolution'. Most of the students came from a non-profit background or intended to start small businesses, and found the Burberry's example less relevant for them. We were supposed to complete an exercise in class in the last lesson, which we were looking forward to so we could apply what we've learnt but he ran out of time. He promised to give us the assignment and give us a week to complete it and give us feedback. But then he totally forgot about it and didn't reply to messages anymore once the course was finished. So it was disappointing after a promising start.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Will definitely be coming back
5 5
Hotcourses
by Isobel - January 2014

I loved it, it gave me a great insight to the fashion industry, focusing on a wide range of aspects including designing, fabric choice, fabric design, creating a theme /mood board and market research. I especially liked the drawing and creativity of designing clothes on models at the end of the week and having our own 'studio' work place as it made me feel part of the fashion industry already! Zoe was an amazing teacher and was very enthusiastic, she taught me so much about the fashion figure and how to use the research we found and put it into designs like a real designer would. I will definitely be coming back to try more of the short courses!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
I was hired as a Visual Merchandiser
5 5
Hotcourses
Visual Display
by EdieD - January 2014

I thought it was really informative. The course tutor was really approachable and patient. Before starting the short course I was working in a finance job that I was unhappy with and within two weeks of completing the LCF course I was hired as a Visual Merchandiser in a flagship store for a well known high street brand.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Precise, accurate, interesting
5 5
Hotcourses
Starting Your Own Fashion Label
by Claudette - January 2014

I have really appreciated this short course. It was precise, accurate, interesting and everything was well explained. I also enjoyed working on some practical exercises with other attendants of the class, it helped a lot to understand certain aspects and points of the short course. The tutor Toby Meadows was great and fun to listen to, he also conveyed enthusiasm and vision and that is what you need when you are considering starting your own fashion label. I would recommend this class and I am glad I took it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Excellent, Enjoyable, Encouraging and Entertaining
5 5
Hotcourses
Home Sewing and Simple Garment Making
by Bharti - January 2014

Excellent, Enjoyable, Encouraging and Entertaining. Maxine created an atmosphere of unity and calmness which, helped me to get my confidence back with using the sewing machine. I learnt a lot of techniques in the five weeks. This is the best course that I have been to in several years where there was top quality teaching. It was excellent value for money. I shall enrol on the sewing techniques course.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Tutor made fashion so interesting and practical
5 5
Hotcourses
Principles of Personal Fashion Styling 2
by DeaB - January 2014

Polly is an amazing tutor. She was able to teach us so much in just one week. She has made fashion so interesting and practical. She's also very nice, helpful, cheerful, and outgoing. She's also very organized with her handouts and very, very generous. I'm so happy I studied Principles of personal fashion styling 2!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
A big thank you to you all at LCF.
5 5
Hotcourses
Essential Guide to the Fashion Business
by Liisi - January 2014

I loved the way the tutor interacted with the students, giving us a real chance to make our ideas heard whilst giving us good guidelines. I am very happy to have attended the course and its structure and depth exceeded my expectations. I am also very happy with the way the tutor had planned the 2 days: first he gave us a good basic idea of the industry and on the second days these new skills were put to the test. Even to me having worked as a fashion assistant, the tutor managed to make me look at media and the whole fashion industry from a new perspective. A big thank you to you all at LCF.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
11-20 of 28 results