London College of Fashion, University of the Arts London Reviews

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

37 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Brilliant course

I attended this course last Christmas and it was so good it has enabled me to st...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Course provider overview

    • Provider Overview
    • Get course info
    • About our tutors
    • Photo gallery

Share your opinions

Write a review

London College of Fashion, University of the Arts London Reviews

37 reviews

(73%)
(14%)
(8%)
(5%)
4 5
London College of Fashion, University of the Arts London

Average student ranking

london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Brilliant course
5 5
Hotcourses
Bridalwear
by Samantha - September 2016

I attended this course last Christmas and it was so good it has enabled me to start my own bridal dress business. The tutor was very friendly, informative, experienced and professional. I loved the fact that the course was so practical as I have found that textbooks whilst often good don't teach the professional secrets or finishing touches. The course was well taught with good balance between teacher guidance and time for you to practise the techniques being taught and have any mistakes/ misunderstanding caught and corrected. You make many toiles so that you can tackle almost any design of gown and finish a couple of items so that you have experience of the finish required for a wedding dress. The course would enable you to take a picture or client brief and then design and make the gown creating your own pattern and customised fit. Amazing, I loved every minute and without it and the tutor I wouldn't be doing a job I love.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Absolutely brilliant course and lovely tutor!
5 5
Hotcourses
Bridalwear
by Jordan - September 2016

I did this course in the summer of my second year into my costume production course as I have a love for Bridalwear and it's not something that was covered as part of my costume degree. I thorpughly enjoyed the whole course and learnt so much in such a short space of time! It was well planned out and covered all aspects from coming up with an inital design to final creation of different bridalwear aspects. Christina was an absolutely lovely tutor who went above and beyond to help me, not only whilst I was on the course but also even when I had questions and wanted to learn more after having completed my weeks at London college of fashion. I highly recommend this course to anyone with a passion for Bridalwear and good base sewing knowledge- you will get so much out of it!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Very Dissapointing
1 5
Hotcourses
Fashion Design (16-18 Year Olds)
by Sophie - August 2016

I was thoroughly disappointed. I felt it was a waste of a day as we completed basic collages, that could have been done at home, and made colour swatches. The teaching was poor and things were not explained well at all. The day finished at 3:45 which at this time we were supposed to go and feel fabric swatches however the tutor did not come with us and so we had no idea where we were going. It was completely overpriced at 425 pounds and no materials were provided so extra money spent on those. Not what I thought at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Highly Recommended!
5 5
Hotcourses
Editorial Styling & Creative Direction
by Maria Ignacia - July 2016

I did the 3 weeks course "Editorial Styling and Creative Direction" exactly 1 year ago, and it was one of the best decisions I have ever made. The tutor, John William, was very informed and knowledgeable and shared with us many practical tips that you can't learn from books. He was very generous with his knowledge and always cared to answer all our questions. We learned the higher principles of styling and creative direction. The first part of the course began with a complete revision of the history of fashion photography and styling, we analyze the most important magazines and publications to date and discussed cultural differences and how fashion impacts society and vice-versa. We visited exhibitions, art galleries and museums; high-end fashion stores and local markets. We learned how to contact and interact with PR's, how to book models, acquire clothes for shootings and how to put our portfolio together to sell our work. We were assigned group and individual styling sessions and had the chance to work with a professional photographer, an amazing MUA and great models. During the process you learn to work on a budget, to listen to each other and to resolve conflicts within a group. The result is incredible creative and professional, and all the photos were edited and published in a small magazine created by us. I felt it was a great environment to creat friendships with your classmates and to learn from each other. After the course I have continue working on my blog, but taking it to the next level, and also doing styling for independent magazines. I strongly recommend this course. Ignacia.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Editorial Styling & Creative Direction
5 5
Hotcourses
Editorial Styling & Creative Direction
by Tatjana - May 2016

I did this course last autumn and I can honestly say it was great experience. The tutor was very informed and knowledgeable and shared with us lots of practical tips. Everything was explained to us in an extremely accessible way, from booking models to acquiring clothes for the shoot. We visited exhibitions, art galleries and museums. I really enjoyed the course and would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Editorial Styling & Creative Direction
5 5
Hotcourses
Editorial Styling & Creative Direction
by Phoebe - April 2016

I completed this course last year and started working in the London fashion industry shortly afterwards. Everything John Williams (Course tutor) said would happen has been absolutely 100% correct. The insights and guidance I received from him have been invaluable. The course was hugely enjoyable and gave me the opportunity to meet many like minded people from all around the world. I couldn't recommend this course highly enough. If you are serious about making it in the fashion industry, listen carefully to this inspirational tutor and then you will be fully prepared for all that it can throw at you!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Amazing Course! :)
5 5
Hotcourses
Editorial Styling & Creative Direction
by Magali - April 2016

I did the short course "editorial styling and Creative direction" a week ago, and I it was the best decision ever for me. The knowledge of the Tutor,John William, is amazing,he always have good examples to show you in each different lecture and he was always teaching in a very professional way, being sure that everything was clear for us.it was so sad for me to finish the course! I would do it for a year! :) I really enjoyed and I feel more confident now, with much more knowledge, not just in terms on fashion, also you will have all the information to how to work in the fashion industry as an stylist. I very much recommend this course and I can't wait to do another course with John! Magali

Was this review helpful? Yes No
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
This is a fantastic course and I learned more than I could have asked for.
5 5
Hotcourses
Editorial Styling & Creative Direction
by nurliyana - April 2016

The course is about editorial styling and creative direction. The tutor approach to teaching was beyond day to day practical knowledge. He touches on higher principles of styling and creative directing. He introduced the importance of history and how it has shaped and impacted on current affairs of fashion. He does not disregard others that have different aesthetic views than his. He is an advocate for sustainable and ethical fashion, embraces the opportunity of the medium to give self empowerment and appreciate different cultures and backgrounds. The first week started and filled with a full and interesting knowledge of the history of fashion photography and styling, followed by showing us the sheer hard work and journey that made photographers the top in their field, and discussing critical issues of cultural sensitivity and appropriation. He also invited a guest tutor, who had an opposite sense of style to give an alternative perspective. Interesting - one can be a minimalist or a maximalist, and both can work if you stay true to yourself. We visited exhibitions, art galleries and museums to understand fashion what we’d been taught by living it, and seeing it from the viewers or users end point. It really made us appreciate what your five sense can do. Have you heard the sound of people talking about artwork, fascinated by the use of one piece of red plastic to create a masterpiece and thought of that as you? It was a good environment to create bonds and friendships with your classmates. We were assigned group and solo creative styling sessions and worked with a professional photographer, renowned makes up artist and models to produce a fashion shoot. I learned and watched how each profession works and the importance of respecting each other expertise. Resolving conflicts within the team was part of the challenge. It teaches you to listen to others, respect their views and hopefully all come to a happy middle point – that looks good! We were given $50 budget to produce our shoots which forced us to think creatively and appreciate the process of creating a shoot from scratch on a tight budget. Starting your own business and having to do everything on your own means apart from having a creative eye, you need to respect the value of the budget if you want to succeed. I now run a blog and do voluntary styling and photography works whilst setting up a clothing business. Of course I do my own photo shoots! I refer back to the skills I learned on this course all the time and the quality of my own work has improved considerably. A top fashion photographer even liked one of my Instagram photos!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Editorial Styling & Creative Direction
5 5
Hotcourses
Editorial Styling & Creative Direction
by Laura - April 2016

If anyone is thinking in going into Creative Direction or Fashion Styling, this course will guide you perfectly and make you grow beautifully in order to succeed. It made me believe in myself and be more confident, I learned pure knowledge and the time managing was on point. We worked with photographers and a MUA in a professional studios and environment. We learned how to contact PR's, the pricing we must apply to ourselves and how to interact with these people. I would definitely recommend this course. As you all may know to be a fashion stylist for Editorials, advertorials ,creative director, etc.. you have to be VERY independent and creative, they can only show you as much, the rest is up to you and how you network. Ever since I left this course I've had a publication on Vogue Italy, H Magazine and many on-line Magazines... Thank you UAL for this wonderful experience that I will take on my new journey as professional fashion stylist.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
london-college-of-fashion-university-of-the-arts-london
Fantastic course
5 5
Hotcourses
Editorial Styling & Creative Direction
by Priscila - April 2016

I have no doubt that this is one of the best fashion styling short courses out there. Before I applied, I was a bit dubious about it, having already had a bad experience on a similar course, but I was pleasantly surprised with a brilliant tutor. John is not only an experienced professional, but also a great teacher. The lectures were insightful, inspiring and of a complexity that I didn't think was possible to achieve in a short course. Also, we were able to have two photoshoots -a group and an individual one, both in a professional studio with a expert photographer. The final result was amazing and magazine quality. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested on the subject.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1-10 of 37 results