Imtaz Khaliq Couture Tailor Reviews

12 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

One day course with Imtaz

I really enjoyed my day with Imtaz. She (& her family, as it was the holiday) ma...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Course provider overview

Share your opinions

Write a review

Imtaz Khaliq Couture Tailor Reviews

12 reviews

(92%)
(8%)
5 5
Imtaz Khaliq Couture Tailor

Average student ranking

Course reviews at this provider

imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
One day course with Imtaz
5 5
Hotcourses
1 day one-to-one tailoring, pattern cutting, and sewing course (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Suzie - August 2017

I really enjoyed my day with Imtaz. She (& her family, as it was the holiday) made me very welcome. We had a lovely chat throughout the day. Learning pattern cutting was great (and a first for me) but also getting sewing tips along the way was very helpful. Imtaz is a lovely person and I enjoyed her company as much as learning a new thing! Making a pattern block is a pretty lengthy process (for a novice) and it gave me a new appreciation for dress and pattern makers. When we'd made the calico mock up, Imtaz quickly knew where the darts needed to be moved to and how the pattern needed adapting for me which is the real skill. I need to practice what I've learnt now to see what I need to learn next. I'd book with Imtaz again for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
Best ever bespoke tailoring course!!
5 5
Hotcourses
by yinka - July 2017

I have always been passionate about sewing and actually wanted to pursue a career in dressmaking. As these things happen, my life took a completely different path (Tax accountant) but my passion for sewing never waned. After buying quite a lot of books and trying a few courses I found out about Imtaz's bespoke tailoring classes. It sounded like just what I needed but admittedly, I didn't know what to expect. I signed up for the 20 day course – I am so glad I did! Although she is very well decorated and highly regarded in the industry, I found Imtaz refreshingly down to earth and very practical. The sessions were quite informal and that suited me perfectly. Imtaz's passion for her work shone through and it was obvious from the onset that she wanted me to realise my dreams as much as I wanted to, if not more so. The classes were tailored to my needs and Imtaz did her best to pass on as much as was possible of her 30 years plus experience during our sessions - her snippets of information (best practices and tricks of the trade) were priceless. Her attention to detail is second to none. I am rather curvy and it’s usually a challenge finding clothes that fit and even when I do get my clothes made they’re never quite right. The outfit I made with Imtaz is like a second layer of skin. It fits perfectly and I LOVE IT!! We even got the pattern all lined up!! Yup, I love bold patterns! I can’t wait to show it off at my friend’s wedding! I have never felt as confident as I do now, after my time with Imtaz, to follow my dressmaking dreams.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
Pattern drafting and tailoring
5 5
Hotcourses
by Debora - June 2017

A 10 day course @ Imtaz, many cups of tea and philosophical discussions later... I have come away with a stunning tailored dress and wrap skirt and most of all with the confidence to make my own creations and bespoke wardrobe! I feel liberated! After this experience I feel it's a must to have a one to one to gain thorough pattern drafting skills, Thank you Imtaz! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
Thankyou Imtaz
5 5
Hotcourses
by Catherine - March 2017

I have just completed a 20 day course with Imtaz where I learnt the art of pattern cutting, fitting and then sewing the complete garments. I made the following: a tailored skirt, dress and softly tailored jacket. I also went away with a trouser pattern and top patterns, pluss plenty of ideas for garments to flatter my figure, this in itself was a revelation for me and I now feel a lot more confident about choosing and creating garments. I was lucky enough to find a local B&B which was perfect, Imtaz also introduced me to the local yoga centre where I had a try at the art of meditation. Well home again in Norway I can only say how much I thoroughly enjoyed this whole indulgent experience. Thankyou Imtaz. So if you are looking to take your sewing skills to the next level - what are you waiting for? - go ahead and book. Catherine

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
new skills learnt
5 5
Hotcourses
1 day one-to-one tailoring, pattern cutting, and sewing course
by Lucy - January 2017

I spent a wonderful day with Imtaz. I learnt so much as she is a wonderful teacher. I couldn't believe I could learn so many new skills in one day - this takes my dressmaking to a new level as now i can create my own patterns. All I have to do now is put it into practice!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
Great Experience
5 5
Hotcourses
1 day one-to-one tailoring, pattern cutting, and sewing course
by Lisa - January 2017

Imtaz is very warm and welcoming and i really enjoyed the opportunity to work with someone who has so much skill and experience. I booked a one day course with Imtaz to refresh some pattern cutting skills and I did not leave disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
great
5 5
Hotcourses
by Lydia - December 2016

Your class though it was two years ago now is the only class where I have learned from start to finish how to make the things I wanted to make, and though I am rusty on practise I still feel what I've learned was so valuable that I can start again confidently.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
Fantastic experience!
5 5
Hotcourses
One day one-to-one tailoring, pattern cutting, and sewing course
by Ivor - November 2016

This was a fantastic course - relaxed, enjoyable and so informative. I can't believe how much I learned in just a single day. I really feel propelled to the next level of sewing and am putting my new skills to good use. Very much hoping to arrange another visit in the near future! (Sarah, Belfast)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
Introduction to pattern cutting
5 5
Hotcourses
Introduction to tailoring and pattern cutting (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Agnes - October 2015

I really enjoy every minute, everything was clear , it was very informative , can't wait to book again. Thanks for your time and effort .

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
Pattern Making Course
5 5
Hotcourses
One day one-to-one tailoring, pattern cutting, and sewing course (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Judith - July 2015

I have just completed a 1-day course learning how to make a block skirt pattern and to fit a calico toile. I was very impressed with the way Imtaz made the process so straightforward. I found Imtaz so easy to get on with, an excellent teacher and an inspiration to start making my own clothes. A really enjoyable 4 hours - and time well spent!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
1-10 of 12 results