Imtaz Khaliq Couture Tailor Reviews

14 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

1 day One-to-One Tailoring, pattern cutting, and sewing course

I recently had the chance to spend a day with Imtaz on a pattern cutting course ...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Course provider overview

Share your opinions

Write a review

Imtaz Khaliq Couture Tailor Reviews

14 reviews

(86%)
(14%)
5 5
Imtaz Khaliq Couture Tailor

Average student ranking

imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
One day course with Imtaz
5 5
Hotcourses
1 day one-to-one tailoring, pattern cutting, and sewing course (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Suzie - August 2017

I really enjoyed my day with Imtaz. She (& her family, as it was the holiday) made me very welcome. We had a lovely chat throughout the day. Learning pattern cutting was great (and a first for me) but also getting sewing tips along the way was very helpful. Imtaz is a lovely person and I enjoyed her company as much as learning a new thing! Making a pattern block is a pretty lengthy process (for a novice) and it gave me a new appreciation for dress and pattern makers. When we'd made the calico mock up, Imtaz quickly knew where the darts needed to be moved to and how the pattern needed adapting for me which is the real skill. I need to practice what I've learnt now to see what I need to learn next. I'd book with Imtaz again for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
1 day One-to-One Tailoring, pattern cutting, and sewing course
5 5
Hotcourses
by Luan - October 2017

I recently had the chance to spend a day with Imtaz on a pattern cutting course after a decision to re-ignite my interest in dressmaking. In the space of four hours, Imtaz taught me the skills of how to create and adapt patterns to make the fabric fit perfectly (and the importance of pressing!). Imtaz is a fantastic teacher and I thoroughly enjoyed my time with her and hope to be able to do more courses in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
Very skilled tutor!
4 5
Hotcourses
1 day one-to-one tailoring, pattern cutting, and sewing course
by Dhayara - September 2017

Imtaz is a skilled teacher, who is patient and attentive to her students' needs. I came to her with a special request to teach me how to draft a block from scratch, as I was not taught this skill at fashion college and she tailored the class accordingly. I was very inspired and motivated after chatting with her and looking through her workbooks. She even made me some lovely lunch which was so so kind of her. The class has been very beneficial and I will definitely be booking more to help me with my second year at college.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
Best ever bespoke tailoring course!!
5 5
Hotcourses
by yinka - July 2017

I have always been passionate about sewing and actually wanted to pursue a career in dressmaking. As these things happen, my life took a completely different path (Tax accountant) but my passion for sewing never waned. After buying quite a lot of books and trying a few courses I found out about Imtaz's bespoke tailoring classes. It sounded like just what I needed but admittedly, I didn't know what to expect. I signed up for the 20 day course – I am so glad I did! Although she is very well decorated and highly regarded in the industry, I found Imtaz refreshingly down to earth and very practical. The sessions were quite informal and that suited me perfectly. Imtaz's passion for her work shone through and it was obvious from the onset that she wanted me to realise my dreams as much as I wanted to, if not more so. The classes were tailored to my needs and Imtaz did her best to pass on as much as was possible of her 30 years plus experience during our sessions - her snippets of information (best practices and tricks of the trade) were priceless. Her attention to detail is second to none. I am rather curvy and it’s usually a challenge finding clothes that fit and even when I do get my clothes made they’re never quite right. The outfit I made with Imtaz is like a second layer of skin. It fits perfectly and I LOVE IT!! We even got the pattern all lined up!! Yup, I love bold patterns! I can’t wait to show it off at my friend’s wedding! I have never felt as confident as I do now, after my time with Imtaz, to follow my dressmaking dreams.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
Pattern drafting and tailoring
5 5
Hotcourses
by Debora - June 2017

A 10 day course @ Imtaz, many cups of tea and philosophical discussions later... I have come away with a stunning tailored dress and wrap skirt and most of all with the confidence to make my own creations and bespoke wardrobe! I feel liberated! After this experience I feel it's a must to have a one to one to gain thorough pattern drafting skills, Thank you Imtaz! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
Thankyou Imtaz
5 5
Hotcourses
by Catherine - March 2017

I have just completed a 20 day course with Imtaz where I learnt the art of pattern cutting, fitting and then sewing the complete garments. I made the following: a tailored skirt, dress and softly tailored jacket. I also went away with a trouser pattern and top patterns, pluss plenty of ideas for garments to flatter my figure, this in itself was a revelation for me and I now feel a lot more confident about choosing and creating garments. I was lucky enough to find a local B&B which was perfect, Imtaz also introduced me to the local yoga centre where I had a try at the art of meditation. Well home again in Norway I can only say how much I thoroughly enjoyed this whole indulgent experience. Thankyou Imtaz. So if you are looking to take your sewing skills to the next level - what are you waiting for? - go ahead and book. Catherine

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
new skills learnt
5 5
Hotcourses
1 day one-to-one tailoring, pattern cutting, and sewing course
by Lucy - January 2017

I spent a wonderful day with Imtaz. I learnt so much as she is a wonderful teacher. I couldn't believe I could learn so many new skills in one day - this takes my dressmaking to a new level as now i can create my own patterns. All I have to do now is put it into practice!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
Great Experience
5 5
Hotcourses
1 day one-to-one tailoring, pattern cutting, and sewing course
by Lisa - January 2017

Imtaz is very warm and welcoming and i really enjoyed the opportunity to work with someone who has so much skill and experience. I booked a one day course with Imtaz to refresh some pattern cutting skills and I did not leave disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
great
5 5
Hotcourses
by Lydia - December 2016

Your class though it was two years ago now is the only class where I have learned from start to finish how to make the things I wanted to make, and though I am rusty on practise I still feel what I've learned was so valuable that I can start again confidently.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
imtaz-khaliq-couture-tailor
Fantastic experience!
5 5
Hotcourses
One day one-to-one tailoring, pattern cutting, and sewing course
by Ivor - November 2016

This was a fantastic course - relaxed, enjoyable and so informative. I can't believe how much I learned in just a single day. I really feel propelled to the next level of sewing and am putting my new skills to good use. Very much hoping to arrange another visit in the near future! (Sarah, Belfast)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1-10 of 14 results