AVADO Reviews

7 reviews

Get course info

Course provider overview

Share your opinions

Write a review

AVADO Reviews

7 reviews

(14%)
(43%)
(43%)
2 5
AVADO

Average student ranking

home-learning-college
Avado Make it Hard Work
2 5
Hotcourses
AAT Level 4 Diploma in Accounting (Professional)
by Kirsty - March 2019

I am close to finishing my course through Avado having started in October 2017. Positive Comments: I cannot fault their sign up process, the sales team are super helpful to get you on a course and get your money! Answered all my questions and were really helpful. I also genuinely cannot fault my tutor, his tutor videos are detailed and clear, I do a lot of own time learning so rarely am in time with the class or watch videos live, but if I email him he responds within around a day, he provides me any material I need and has helped confirm things for me. The knowledge checks are helpful, there are very few example/ practise questions in the book so having this online check, to be used alongside AAT practise questions, is great. Negative Comments: Although the tutor is helpful, actually rarely needed. So if I could go back again knowing this, I wouldn't need to pay tons for a course with a tutor, I'd just buy books and look online & at AAT forums. I completed level 3 with Osbourne books and actually I cannot fault them, I changed because people told me level 4 was such a step up I would struggle without a tutor, I disagree. There are errors everywhere, and I mean everywhere. The books are super hard at times because they say something such as "Emily has bank interest income of £7,900", and then as they start their example workings, the figure of £8,400 is used, £7,900 to be found no where other than the question. You sit for 10 minutes trying to genuinely work out if you are totally missing something, or Avado are just incapable of double checking before they print. Errors are common in knowledge checks, "Answer to 2 decimal places" so I'd type 3.27 and then I get a question wrong and when I check their answer they have put "3.274" - So I knew I was doing well despite my 60% knowledge check results, but I had to go through all answers to confirm that it was Avado being ridiculous and not myself. I have emailed my tutor and Avado each time I spot an error, thinking ok someone can now know exactly where to look and quickly update it. I have gone back to find errors I reported, still errors. The other thing is that the books can be very hard to follow, say you have a management accounts example, with a cost card which is the basis for all questions for the next chapter, the cost card will be printed once on page 24, and then all examples and questions relate to this 1 cost card. You get to page 50 and it's still referring to this cost card which is pages and pages back so you are flicking through trying to find the original, they don't just print it again so you can clearly see where figures are coming from. I have passed all exams to date with pass rates of 82%+, so I am obviously getting it with Avado, I just think they have actually made it hard work and if anyone asked me I would not recommend them. If you have the money to spend then find a better more reliable company or do a college course. Otherwise AAT & books will get you through.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
home-learning-college
Very confusing
2 5
Hotcourses
AAT Level 2 Certificate in Accounting (Foundation)
by Jordan - June 2018

I started this course barbecue i wanted classes that i could watch as im pretty poor at reading. at first this was good but the layout started to change classes where not in the right order, named correctly and in some lay outs just flat out didn't make scenes. i.e. week 5 "name" Week 2 " name" Week 5 "Differant Name" Week 4 "name" this got me very confused and this never really changed. i found it harder and harder to get through the weeks plan because i couldn't find the classes, after i did i was fine. but fining the classes was plain stupid. if you just plan on reading the books they send you and nothing else sure but if not dont bother. the tests they send you are easy to guess the answers and the boxes can only fit the correct answer in so your not learning your just putting the only number that can fit in. finally as just a point to the company. check up on your learners to see how things are going and if they need assistance or anything, i have called at least 5 times because of the issues above and am now falling quite far behind. this isnt a must but could help with success rates and stop people like myself from just wanting to quite and go somewhere else to try again. if i get through this course i will not be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
home-learning-college
Save your money
1 5
Hotcourses
CIPD Advanced Diploma in HR Management
by Lynne - April 2017

This course colts £7,500. Be very careful! After just one tutorial I withdrew from the course and asked for a refund. They had taken £5,000 out of my bank account and they threatened to sue me for the remaining £2,500 . Very distressing. They finally agreed to return only £2,500. So it cost me £2500 for one online tutorial And some poor quality books.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
home-learning-college
Extremely poor, not worth the money
1 5
Hotcourses
by Latarshia - February 2017

I have noticed that myself amongst other students have complained in the online Learner Forum that the books that AVADO provide are of extremely low quality. In fact, there are so many errors that it makes it hard to determine whether or not it is an error of your own or an actual error in the book. I didn't finish the course as a consequence and wasted roughly a thousand pound doing so. STEER CLEAR OF AVADO!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
home-learning-college
Save your money
2 5
Hotcourses
by Francisco - December 2016

Good student support ( although my books arrived 3 weeks late), interesting subjects and topics. Information outdated (2013), no guidance how to use marketing tools. Virtual Campus Learning a mess. No proper guidance. I gave up.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
home-learning-college
Please be careful
1 5
Hotcourses
AAT Level 2 Certificate and Level 3 Diploma in Accounting (Advanced)
by kirsty - February 2016

Due to not cancelling a course in the 14 day period. Which I had not started yet so how would I know it was not for me? I am now paying £1500 for a nothing they would not cancel it so I am paying £75 a month for nothing. Be careful

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
home-learning-college
Excellent!!!
5 5
Hotcourses
CIPD Level 3 Foundation Certificate in Human Resource Practice
by Rimute - December 2014

I needed a change in my career so I start googling for some courses and found Home Learning college was offering what I wanted to - CIPD certificate, I choose to go for level 3 CIPD foundation certificate in HR practice. When I enroled I was scared, that I will not push myself to study, but it's really working!!! Now I'm so happy that I started studying, furthermore I landed a position with in recruitment section - as I always wanted. My personal observations that without these courses I wouldn't had made it to get new position. After I'm done with level 3, definitely will enroll to other courses with Home Learning College. Rimute

Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.