Flux Jewellery School Reviews

15 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Amazing course, Amazing Teachers

This course took an absolute novice and turned me into a focused totally absorbe...more

See all reviews

About

About

Flux Jewellery School

At Flux Jewellery School we provide a dynamic and inspirational creative environment for you to develop jewellery making skills.

We offer courses for beginners, intermediate and advanced students. From introductory jewellery workshops to specialist short courses we encourage you explore new ways to work and design with metal.
We are focussed on assisting you to develop new skills to help you find ways to express your own personal aesthetic through your designs.

Join us; see what you can do!

If you are already an experienced jeweller we also run a membership scheme .Flux membership is for jewellers who can work independently and need studio access to develop their work. We provide facilities, and technical and business expertise to help you develop your business in a friendly and supportive environment.

Share your opinions

Write a review

Flux Jewellery School Reviews

15 reviews

(93%)
(7%)
5 5
Flux Jewellery School

Average student ranking

Course reviews at this provider

flux-studios
Amazing course, Amazing Teachers
5 5
Hotcourses
by LNQUZFDIDJ - July 2013

This course took an absolute novice and turned me into a focused totally absorbed jewellery designer and maker in just two days. I am so proud of the piece I made which included hard soldering, adding texture to metal and setting a stone. The studio is amazingly well equipped and organised and by the end of the first day I was so comfortable working at my own pace using lots of new tools and manufacturing processes. Vicky is excellent. She has so much experience and enthusiasm, she can motivate with just a smile and a 'well done'. Barbara has so much energy and would do anything to help and support. Fantastic team.  I am so happy with my two days experience that I am planning to do a short 10 week course in the Autumn. This studio and the courses on offer are a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
flux-studios
etching on metal
5 5
Hotcourses
Etching Techniques for Jewellery (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by gwanwyn - July 2012

I absolutely loved this course. I learned so much and am ready to etch myself without any problem. The tutors were wonderful and nothing was too m uch trouble. They were so nice. The people on the course were also lovely and i had a really wonderful day. if you want to learn to etch this is the course for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
flux-studios
top rate teaching
5 5
Hotcourses
by Beth - September 2008

This course is excellent value for money and stands out from the rest. Vicky Forrester is a brillaint tutor - ensuring that each student is equipped with the necessary skills, technique, confidence and inspiration to make jewellery for life!

Facilities

Excellent range of equipment - everything that you would need to make jewellery with precious metals and stones effectively and safely.

Student life

An informal friendly atmosphere - no stuffyness here! A great way to meet new people and share friendships, jewellery making tips and test out ideas.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
flux-studios
Patient and knowledgeable
5 5
Hotcourses
by debilishy - September 2008

Excellent value for money. The course allows you to move your skills on to the next level through one on one tuition and plenty of practical time. The tutor encourages you to be independent and stretch your creative mind to do something new and different for each project.

Facilities

Facilities all in good working order with everything you need in order to complete your project

Student life

Like minded people with a great atmosphere the tutor encourange you to learn from each other as well. great fun you will look forward to each session!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
flux-studios
Just go for it!!!
5 5
Hotcourses
by Kinga - September 2008

If you are think you are creative, and like to learn when having fun this is course for you! If you are experienced and need guidance and inspiration this course is for you too! I could not wait until my Tuesdays lessons, to meet all students, to see what new techniques and jeweller`s secrets we were going to learn. This course thought me not only the manual side of the craft, but also how to transform my thoughts into a beautiful object. I have enjoyed that time so much!

Facilities

The course is run in a very professional way. It is expected from you to record every learnt bit, designing processes, inspirational materials, drawings etc in folders and all help like teachers advice, library, internet etc are provided. The work shop has got most of tools and equipment, as well as learning books.

Student life

It was nothing better than meet with all students every week and work together. Such a pleasure to compare different point of view, tastes, imaginations especially after going to exhibitions or presenting finished items a front of all calls.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
flux-studios
Just go for it!!!
5 5
Hotcourses
by Kinga - September 2008

If you are think you are creative, and like to learn when having fun this is course for you! If you are experienced and need guidance and inspiration this course is for you too! I could not wait until my Tuesdays lessons, to meet all students, to see what new techniques and jeweller`s secrets we were going to learn. This course thought me not only the manual side of the craft, but also how to transform my thoughts into a beautiful object. I have enjoyed that time so much!

Facilities

The course is run in a very professional way. It is expected from you to record every learnt bit, designing processes, inspirational materials, drawings etc in folders and all help like teachers advice, library, internet etc are provided. The work shop has got most of tools and equipment, as well as learning books.

Student life

It was nothing better than meeting the teacher and all students every week and work together. Such a pleasure to compare different point of view, tastes, imaginations especially after going to exhibitions or presenting finished items a front of all calls.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
flux-studios
Great silver jewellery making courses!
4 5
Hotcourses
by Francis - September 2008

Great experience! The tutor (Vicky Forrester) is a fantastic and very experienced jeweller herself. She will work together with you and guide you during the designing and making stages to ensure that you feel confident about your work. She will make sure to discuss possible flaws to your design and will help you find solutions for them. She will cover step by step how to approach your work and supervise whilst you do it, allowing you to gain the first hand experience that you need, but making sure you produce something you will feel proud of.

Facilities

Most of the tools will be there for you to borrow if you don't have them, and you can also buy materials and resources from Vicky should you run out of forget to bring them yourself!

Student life

Fantastic! A really good opportunity to discuss and show your work to other people, as well as seeing other people's ideas and desings. And yes, we do meet from time to time after the course for a few drinks too! Hope to see you there soon! Francis x

Was this review helpful? Yes No
flux-studios
Make jewellery well, have fun, make friends!
5 5
Hotcourses
by B - September 2008

The tutor has a thorough knowledge and experience in jewellery making, she helps you to achieve great results and helps you explore your own ideas and individuality. The classes are informal and fun and very productive. The course is great value for money.

Facilities

The studio is well equipped and there are plenty of tools to share. The library of reference books can be a great source of ideas and the class discussions are also good for stimulation of ideas.

Student life

Each session is productive and great fun, the group work in a very relaxed and happy environment. We socialise by attending exhibitions together and sometimes shop in Hatton garden for supplies.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
flux-studios
Fantastic Course
5 5
Hotcourses
by Lynn - September 2008

Plenty of scope to develop your own designs plus teaching in wide range of jewellery skills. Teacher is an experienced jeweller, very enthusiastic and encourages creativity among her students

Facilities

Well equipped jewellery studio.

Student life

Good atmosphere in the classes.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
flux-studios
Course Tutor
5 5
Hotcourses
by Kate - September 2008

Vicky is a fantastic teacher, who successfully manages the balance between class demonstrations & instruction with individual direction and advice, whether it be practical issues, design frustrations or just the need for some good old fashioned encouragement. Vicky is passionate about what she does and gets real satisfaction from seeing her students progress and develop. She seems to revel in being presented with tricky practical issues and coming up with a number of possible solutions which are mentally and creatively inspiring, if sometimes a little challenging. I look forward to the end of September and the start of the new course, when i have some new tricky practical issues to present :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
1-10 of 15 results