College of Media and Publishing Reviews

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

37 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Great course with very helpful tutor

This course is a well thought out, well-written introduction to web editing. It ...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Course provider overview

Share your opinions

Write a review

College of Media and Publishing Reviews

37 reviews

(92%)
(8%)
5 5
College of Media and Publishing

Average student ranking

college-of-media-and-publishing
Great course with very helpful tutor
4 5
Hotcourses
by Anne - March 2019

This course is a well thought out, well-written introduction to web editing. It covers all the basics of editing (clarity, consistency, spelling, punctuation, grammar, accuracy) and moves on to the specifics of websites at the end (SEO, accessibility, usability). I found its principles clear, easy to follow and apply. The assignments allow you to pick web copy to analyse. You get the chance to write your own web copy as well. The tutor was fantastic and very constructive. He flagged up some blind spots that needed attention and built my confidence. The quick marking turnaround (three working days) really helped me keep up momentum and complete the course. This course might not be detailed enough if you already know all the basics of web editing, but otherwise, I'd thoroughly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
college-of-media-and-publishing
A good all-round course with lots of valuable learning points
4 5
Hotcourses
Proofreading and editing course - (Level 4 Diploma)
by Matthew - December 2018

I really enjoyed the flexibility of this course - having started it in January 2017 and just finished in December 2018, it's great not to have imposed deadlines (although some users may prefer a more rigorous approach). The contents are interesting and great preparation for future career plans. The tutorial support good - and prompt. Any clarification was usually dealt with in a timely manner.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
college-of-media-and-publishing
Great course and good value
5 5
Hotcourses
Copywriting course (Level 4 Diploma)
by Rory - December 2018

If you're thinking of entering Copwriting or are seeking to build on your existing skills this is a good course that covers just about every form of copywriting I can think of. The assignments get more and more challenging (the writing for web, social media and blogs assignment is a monster!) but ultimately that's what you want in an online course - to be stretched. The website online learning area is easy to navigate and your tutor is helpful and quick to mark your assignments. I've only just completed the course and am now considering doing the editing and proofreading one too.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
college-of-media-and-publishing
Professional exceeded my expectations
5 5
Hotcourses
Food journalism course (Level 3 Diploma)
by Mariam - November 2018

I signed up for this course in order to be more professional with my writings skills. I am really amazed by the content as it meets my expectations, honestly at first all online courses were challenging but once I familiarise myself with the concept of distance learning method I realized that there is no difference between online course or the traditional one. In fact, online learning is more effective than the old-fashioned techniques where you don't need to memorize materials instead, you go through challenging assignments where you conduct some research and gather the right information for better writing.My tutor Justine 's feedback set me on the the right path with excellent instructions all throughout my course.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
college-of-media-and-publishing
A very thorough and enjoyable course!
5 5
Hotcourses
Copywriting course (Level 4 Diploma)
by Emily - July 2018

Completing this course has been something I've been wanting to do for a long time. It's filled with so much information about the areas surrounding the topic and how to apply it to your own work. I had such a lovely tutor, Justine, who promptly marked my assignments with great feedback. Thanks so much CMP for a great course!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
college-of-media-and-publishing
A Great way to kick start a new career
5 5
Hotcourses
by Lesley - June 2018

I have now done three courses and I have found them all to be excellent, they cover all you need to know and more. The tutors are all experts in their fields and couldn't be more helpful. If you want to just learn about different forms of writing and publishing, or like me wanted to start a new career, this is the college for you. Due to completing these courses I am now a published author, also doing work for other people. All of these courses are brilliant, why choose one, or like me why not do a few to grow your portfolio.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
college-of-media-and-publishing
Excellent course
5 5
Hotcourses
Proofreading and editing course - (Level 4 Diploma)
by Nikki - June 2018

The course was well put together, easy to follow and the forum was user-friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
college-of-media-and-publishing
Excellent course
5 5
Hotcourses
Proofreading and editing course - (Level 4 Diploma)
by Kaye - June 2018

This course was everything I expected from an online provider with an excellent reputation. The lessons were very easy to understand and included activities to practise a new skill. The assignments were challenging but fun to complete, and the tutor feedback was constructive and invaluable. It was reassuring to have access to my tutor for any queries throughout the course and the response was always prompt, friendly and encouraging. Once the course is completed, the college continues to offer support and advice if needed, which is an added bonus. This course provides the necessary teaching to enable someone to become a freelance worker or to further a career in the publishing field. I would highly recommend both this course and the college.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
college-of-media-and-publishing
Excellent course
5 5
Hotcourses
Proofreading and editing course - (Level 4 Diploma)
by Kaye - June 2018

This course was everything I expected from an online provider with an excellent reputation. The lessons were very easy to understand and included activities to practise a new skill. The assignments were challenging but fun to complete, and the tutor feedback was constructive and invaluable. It was reassuring to have access to my tutor for any queries throughout the course and the response was always prompt, friendly and encouraging. Once the course is completed, the college continues to offer support and advice if needed, which is an added bonus. This course provides the necessary teaching to enable someone to become a freelance worker or to further a career in the publishing field. I would highly recommend both this course and the college.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
college-of-media-and-publishing
Best decision I made signing up to do this course.
5 5
Hotcourses
Proofreading and editing course - (Level 4 Diploma)
by M - May 2018

I cannot rate this course, and the tutors at the college, highly enough. I knew my writing and editing skills were good, but this course challenged me even further. It gets progressively more difficult with each assignment which is great, and I learned so much in the way of grammar (my weak spot!), techniques, and resources to keep learning and practicing. The lessons are informative and easy to follow, the assignments are easy to upload, and the tutor feedback is quick and constructive. It took me about 4 months, fitting it in around work and other commitments. I thoroughly recommend this course and the college too.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
1-10 of 37 results