CITY LIT

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

490 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Outstanding teaching!!

The biggest appeal of the Access Course to me was the speed of it. I didn’t want...more

See all reviews

Request info Visit website

Course provider overview

    • Provider Overview
    • View all courses
    • View all reviews
    • Request info

Share your opinions

Write a review

Course review summary

491 reviews

(65%)
(24%)
(7%)
(3%)
(1%)
4 5
CITY LIT

Average student ranking

Course reviews at this provider

city-lit
Outstanding teaching!!
5 5
Hotcourses
Access to HE diploma: humanities and social science (evenings)
by Matthew - June 2015

The biggest appeal of the Access Course to me was the speed of it. I didn’t want to spend two years getting to university and this gave me the chance to do it quickly. I thought I was prepared for the intensity that would come with such a compact course – I wasn’t! The deadlines are tight and the amount of self-study and reading required is daunting. But, the quality and support of the teaching staff meant that whilst vast, the workload was never too much. This is definitely not a course for the faint-hearted, but you’re working with a group of like minded individuals and the lessons are very engaging. Everything is taught in a very structured and logical way, which allowed me to follow modules that I had no prior knowledge of and additional help was always on hand from the teaching staff in those moments of pre-deadline panic!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
32 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
city-lit
Patronising Tutor
2 5
Hotcourses
Novel writing
by EV - September 2016

It was alright. I learned some useful "facts and figures". Unfortunately I found the tutor very patronising. He seemed to only have time for you if you had just finished an MA or were just about to do one. One of those campus types who wants to be in with the young 'n (supposedly) trendy in crowd. Whatever that is.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
25 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
city-lit
Course did not follow the Plan
2 5
Hotcourses
by Chris - September 2015

started one course did not follow the create excel spreadsheet for a buisness from scratch making it easy for end user to use. did not cover just bits and pieces. stopped this course half way through went to another tutor started again same thing. City lit needs for its tutors to follow what is advertised.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
city-lit
Outstanding teaching!!
5 5
Hotcourses
Access to HE diploma: humanities and social science (evenings)
by Matthew - June 2015

The biggest appeal of the Access Course to me was the speed of it. I didn’t want to spend two years getting to university and this gave me the chance to do it quickly. I thought I was prepared for the intensity that would come with such a compact course – I wasn’t! The deadlines are tight and the amount of self-study and reading required is daunting. But, the quality and support of the teaching staff meant that whilst vast, the workload was never too much. This is definitely not a course for the faint-hearted, but you’re working with a group of like minded individuals and the lessons are very engaging. Everything is taught in a very structured and logical way, which allowed me to follow modules that I had no prior knowledge of and additional help was always on hand from the teaching staff in those moments of pre-deadline panic!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
city-lit
Outstanding Maths teaching
5 5
Hotcourses
by Danielle - June 2015

I did this course because I had to do my Maths GCSE again, in order to become a primary school teacher. It has changed the way I feel about Maths from being a subject of fear and loathing to something I love. Without a doubt one of the best and most inspiratirational teachers I have ever experienced, means that even though my exams are finished now, I can't quite put the maths books away- and enjoy doing the odd equation while I wait for the kettle to boil!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
city-lit
A fulfilling and enjoyable course!
5 5
Hotcourses
Directing different plays: stage 1
by Bob - September 2014

This course is designed for all levels of experience from beginners upwards, and it certainly developed my directing technique and confidence throughout the term. It compares very favourably with courses I have attended at other centres. Apart from being a very practical and productive course, it is also enormous fun and I looked forward to it very much each week. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who wants to develop their directing skills

Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
city-lit
Fantastic subjects and tutors
5 5
Hotcourses
Access to HE diploma: humanities and social science (evenings)
by Salman - July 2014

Covering 4 subjects with just 2 evenings a week was far from an easy task - but it was well worth it - I will really miss this course. The tutors were very professional, and very supportive. They helped us through any problems we encountered and were excellent at explaining the subject material. The topics explored (Media Studies, History, Literature and Study Skills) were very enriching. It was also very good preparation for university. However even if one wasn't aiming for university, I would still highly recommend this course as the knowledge gained is a benefit in itself.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
city-lit
my amazing experience at city lit
5 5
Hotcourses
Access to HE diploma: humanities and social science (evenings)
by dean - July 2014

I have just completed my 1 year evening access course in humanities and social science. I'm writing on this website to say that I found all aspect of the course outstanding. Firstly, the course was always well organised. we were given prior information on the course's structure and always given enough time to complete the assignments. Second, the quality of the teaching was very good. From experience, I would say it's of a higher level than A levels and other access courses I've tried. Third, the atmosphere is very supportive. I was fortunate to have very friendly classmates. Also, my course and personal tutors gave me plenty of advice. Very impressed with it.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
city-lit
Excellent tutors and subject matter
5 5
Hotcourses
Access to HE diploma: humanities and social science (evenings)
by Rebecca - July 2014

I have just finished the 1st year of the 2 yr part time evening access course. I've been extremely impressed with the high standard of teaching at City Lit and would highly recommend this course. The support and guidance is fantastic and essential for any adult learner looking to return to education.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
city-lit
Excellent!
5 5
Hotcourses
Learn Guitar In One Day
by Dave Mark - September 2012

I've just got back from my One Day Guitar course for complete beginners and am pleased to report that I can indeed play a Bob Marley song on the guitar. There's plenty of information about other aspects of the instrument too. It was really good fun and Oliver was really helpful and patient with us all. I feel inspired to continue learning tunes on my own too. Recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
1-10 of 490 results