Chalk the Sun creative writing Reviews

22 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Excellent support for writers

I found it a valuable and enjoyably informal way of progressing my writing....more

See all reviews

Buy a voucher

About

About

Chalk the Sun creative writing

Why we founded Chalk the Sun …

For two decades, we had enjoyed teaching and sharing our experience of writing and working in the media to help others fulfil their creative potential. However, form-filling and bureaucracy in education were driving us insane so we decided get back to basics - talking, teaching, and sharing brilliant ideas with other imaginative people. We liked the notion of working next to a nice bar with comfy sofas too… and so did some of our talented colleagues who joined us.

At Chalk the Sun we recognise that people write for different reasons, from fun to publication. If you have an 80,000-word draft that needs reworking and completing, we can support you and link you with the relevant expert on our team. If you want to play with words, experiment with ideas and create stories from your experience, there’s a Chalk the Sun course for you. We won’t guarantee that you’ll be published in six months (though it has happened!). We will guarantee that you’ll meet people who share your desire to express yourself in writing, that you’ll get loads of friendly, professional advice, and that you’ll become a better writer.

Choose the course for you.
Our flexible study options include weekly evening courses, or monthly, come-when-you-can workshops. Study in a small group, complete focused writing exercises, analyse extracts from contemporary and classic writers, share your work and receive feedback from professionals. The class often continue over a drink or some food in the bar next door.


Ardella and Jo

Share your opinions

Write a review

Chalk the Sun creative writing Reviews

22 reviews

(91%)
(9%)
5 5
Chalk the Sun creative writing

Average student ranking

Course reviews at this provider

chalk-the-sun
Excellent support for writers
5 5
Hotcourses
Novelists' Survival Group taster (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Barry - March 2017

I found it a valuable and enjoyably informal way of progressing my writing.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
chalk-the-sun
Fab writing class
5 5
Hotcourses
Writers' Room creative writing Taster (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Sona - March 2017

Tucked away in a tooting corner is a great writing workshop which wets your literary aspirations and churns up creative juices

Was this review helpful? Yes No
chalk-the-sun
Putting the 'pro' in 'progressing'
5 5
Hotcourses
by Paul - October 2016

Great to have the inside track from author Claire McGowan on getting from zero to second or third draft. Insights into important aspects such as the number of words to aim for at each stage, choice of narrative voice/s, story v plot, defining plot points, pace, diagnosis of 'what's wrong with your book'?' Also, some discerning suggestions for further reading. Packed enough into one afternoon to make me look critically at my own writing.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
chalk-the-sun
One on one
5 5
Hotcourses
creative writing 121 developmental tutorials (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Patrick - November 2015

Ardella is a conscientious and thorough teacher. She worked hard on the material I sent and had some excellent points for me to absorb. Her review of my work was highly critical, but I felt it was all constructive, and it was delivered in a sympathetic, encouraging and sensitive way. She spent a great deal of time with me and I felt I really got my money's worth.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
chalk-the-sun
So good, I did it twice
5 5
Hotcourses
Get Started, Keep Going Creative Writing (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Stephen - April 2014

For six weeks I was inspired, encouraged and challenged to discover and develop my writing skills. I enjoyed the process so much that I enrolled in a second 6-week programme immediately after the first. The content of the classes was carefully tailored to suit the group’s experience and aims. Ardella created a supportive, motivating and above all fun environment in which to discover, share and explore new techniques. Week by week I was delighted to feel skills growing and habits forming as I practised using different tools and approaches to writing. Having started as an absolute beginner, Chalk the Sun has launched me into a life-long love affair with writing, with a solid portfolio of pieces under my belt and a desire to keep growing.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
chalk-the-sun
scripts
5 5
Hotcourses
Stage & Screen scriptwriting monthly workshops (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by jennifer - July 2013

I foumd my initial class both very interesting and stimulating. in particular the subject of themes and plots. The two tutors were very competant, in their teaching methods and very knowledgable in their in their subjects, i look forward to my next session

Was this review helpful? Yes No
chalk-the-sun
Well constructed, meaningful and interesting
4 5
Hotcourses
Stage & Screen Scriptwriting Taster (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Stephen - July 2013

The two women who ran the course had a lesson plan that covered the particular area that day. The venue is excellent and the other participants on the course seemed really switched on. There is a sense that if you participate on this course and engage that it could lead to something.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
chalk-the-sun
CREATIVE WRITING
5 5
Hotcourses
Writers' Room creative writing Saturdays (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Pearl - July 2013

Very, very interesting and rewarding into the world of words and detailed insight into the mind of other writers and students. I look forward to the monthly ongoing classes. Thank You.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
chalk-the-sun
Chalk the sun...
4 5
Hotcourses
Writers' Room creative writing Taster (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Laura - February 2013

Taster workshop - fun, entertaining, inspiring and varied. Enough to provoke deeper thought - which is all I wanted from a 'taster' session. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
chalk-the-sun
The Rolls Royce of Scriptwriting courses
5 5
Hotcourses
by Tarantino Two - January 2013

I cannot believe the standard of tutors on this course - so far I've had a TV animation writer, a brilliant theatre director, a comic script writer, a TV producer and most stunning of all Jonathan Wolfman BBC script developer for BAFTA-winning, top teen dramas Tracy Beaker,The Dumping Ground and Wolf Blood. The man was even kind enough to read my treatmnet and chat to me in the bar for an hour! How cool is that! Handouts, DVD clips, feed back, venue,other students, all great. I've learned more than I did at film school for a fraction of the money. It's a small group too so you get individual treatment - Oh no! now you are all going to join. Doh!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1-10 of 22 results