Cactus Language Reviews

14 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Este curso de espanol me encanta

I am currently enrolled for a Spanish course and I am really enjoying my lessons...more

See all reviews

Share your opinions

Write a review

Cactus Language Reviews

14 reviews

(71%)
(14%)
(7%)
(7%)
4 5
Cactus Language

Average student ranking

cactus-worldwide-ltd
Small and hot rooms, Admin response unhelpful.
2 5
Hotcourses
by Sylvia - April 2019

I had mixed experiences with Cactus. I previously took two Italian evening classes, intensive, B1 and B2, two days a week for 5 weeks each course. Both for £210 each. Both courses were really good, The venue was not great though: it was at St Giles in Russel Sq/ Holborn in the basement, not good looking rooms, no natural light and the next door German class could be heard too. But we were a small class , 6 of us, with a great teacher so that made up for it. Some of us would have liked to continue with an intensive course but Cactus failed to schedule to the students needs, that was disappointing after our initial investments. So instead I enrolled for the 10-week B3 course in Kings Cross as I hoped for a bettter venue there. However 16 days prior to that course starting, Cactus mailed to say the class would not go ahead as there weren’t enough students. “How could they know this so early”, I asked them. The reply was “there are not enough students for Kings across, you can continue in Holborn”. It sounded like they were combining their bookings to save on tutor & venue fees. Against my gut feeling I changed back to Holborn which I now regret because this class has 11 students cramped into a very narrow room on the ground floor, it is soooo hot in there, and loud too. For activities we are supposed to move around the room to practise dialogues with one another - this is made very difficult since the chairs are backing up to the walls on each side. Truly small for a classroom. i asked Cactus if I could continue in another class (this or next term) but got a lot of blah blah back referring to the Terms & Conditions. So NO - basically I have t suck it up. I am not enjoying learning Italian anymore and really find it difficultto apply myself in this current course. This course cost me less than the usual £210 as i booked early - in hindsight I advise against early bird offers since the Cactus course schedule is doomed to change and then you might find you are stuck like I am now. Cactus is lucky that most of their teachers make it the learning experience great .... on other aspects like student care and room conditions they are not scoring high. I will cut my cost and continue with another language provider in future.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
cactus-worldwide-ltd
Not High Level courses...
1 5
Hotcourses
German Evening Language Course
by Iryna - June 2017

All depends on a Teacher. I attended 7 of 10 lessons before I understand, that it is wasting of time. And really expensive one. My teacher was boring and NOT inspiring, as promised on a website. The lessons were unbearably slow, boring and dull. We made exercises based on the book only, we spend a lot of time for the interactive whiteboard problems (set up, erase-rewrite) - up to 5% of the lesson. There is no clear lesson's structure- sometimes it seems to me that the teacher is just reading the topic before the lesson, but she come up with what exactly will we do during the lesson. On the last lesson we spent an hour doing the exercises quietly with the other guys from group, there was no teacher's activity and involvement in the process, the second hour was simply wasted. The lesson was at a very slow pace and completely uninteresting, unproductive and certainly not inspiring, as you promised on the site. I do not agree to pay money for bad quality service. I believe that it is unfair that someone gets really clever and talented teachers for the same money, and someone not. I'm not the kind of person who will remain silent, my money should work and benefit me. I wish your school "a speedy recovery."

Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
cactus-worldwide-ltd
Este curso de espanol me encanta
5 5
Hotcourses
Spanish Evening Language Course
by Feria - March 2017

I am currently enrolled for a Spanish course and I am really enjoying my lessons. The most important reason is my teacher Maria. The course is not a beginner course, which means that we have to learn complicated grammatical parts of the language. One of the students found the course too difficult for her, but this was not a reason to interrupt her learning process as it was possible for her to move to a lower level course. Maria tries to teach us the most complicated parts of the language with big efforts and fun. At the same time, she encourages us to speak a lot in the course by giving us group tasks. I will definitely continue my learning with Cactus!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
cactus-worldwide-ltd
Spanish Evening Course in Brighton
5 5
Hotcourses
by Marta - February 2017

The Spanish course with Javier is very stimulating and his way of teaching is funny. He is able to create a relaxed and friendly environment in the class. He makes us speak Spanish a lot which is fundamental for learning a language. Love Javier and love Spanish. I strongly recommend Cactus ;)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
cactus-worldwide-ltd
Excellent teaching, well organised course
5 5
Hotcourses
French Evening Language Course
by Rae - February 2017

There were 8 people in my beginner 1 course, which was a good number as we got to work in different pairs and groups, and there were a lot of speaking activities which I liked. The teacher spoke only in French but I was able to understand everything because she used a lot of visuals and gestures and context, so it was easy to understand. The course moved quite quickly and we covered a lot of vocabulary and grammar in a short period of time - but as the course is only 10 weeks it felt like we progressed quickly. It was important to do all the homework in order to keep up. I recommend this course and will be continuing to the next level.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
cactus-worldwide-ltd
Fantastique!
5 5
Hotcourses
French Evening Language Course
by Sara - February 2017

I have completed the beginner 1 course in December and continued this year with beginner 2. I could not be happier with the lessons, the organisation and with the teacher. She is very dynamic and obviously very experienced, she keeps students engaged and ensures everyone participates during the lessons. The progress I made since the start is so noticeable and rewarding. I will certainly continue with Cactus and can't wait to be fluent in French! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
cactus-worldwide-ltd
Both fun and efficient!
5 5
Hotcourses
by Ma - February 2017

German sounded like from another galaxy to me, so I decided I should try it! I have been amazed by the amount of material covered during the lessons, and the way we were learning in a relax and friendly atmosphere! Definitely signing in for a continuation! Thank you Cactus :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
cactus-worldwide-ltd
Great experience with Cactus Language
5 5
Hotcourses
Italian Evening Language Course
by Victoria - February 2017

Took a couple of Italian evening courses with Cactus in 2016 and really enjoyed them. My teacher Sara really helped me improve, especially with making us speak in Italian to each other to practice as much as possible the language. I've booked again this year and I'm now at the Elementary level! Grazie mille a tutti

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
cactus-worldwide-ltd
Great course
5 5
Hotcourses
by Kathrin - February 2017

I have enrolled for the Spanish Intermediate course in Brighton in October and I was really happy with it so I also signed up for the continuation course in January. The teacher is great, the classes are fun and interactive and I feel like I've learned a lot during the past months.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
cactus-worldwide-ltd
Amazing experience in my 5-week
5 5
Hotcourses
by Alessia - January 2016

I enrolled in their 5-week French course because I needed to improve my french ASAP before going ahead with my new Job in Paris. I made a great progress, and I appreciated that the teacher was native who was very helpful and active in the lessons.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
1-10 of 14 results