Birmingham Adult Education Service Reviews

8 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Faster Typer

Definitely helped improve the speed at which I type! Friendly, welcoming environ...more

See all reviews

Request info Visit website

Course provider overview

Share your opinions

Write a review

Birmingham Adult Education Service Reviews

8 reviews

(38%)
(25%)
(13%)
(25%)
3 5
Birmingham Adult Education Service

Average student ranking

Course reviews at this provider

birmingham-adult-education-service
No course!
1 5
Hotcourses
Saxophone & Clarinet - Beginners (Grades 1-2)
by Tony - March 2016

You really are asking the wrong person! I tried to enroll onto this course but I was told that I was too late to start. I made several attempts to find out when, or if the next course was available but was ignored. I gave up trying and find that this review is totally inappropriate. However, if you are able to provide me with the opportunity to attend a repeat course I would still be interested. I see I can't post this without a review rating... So please see my one star as a zero star.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
birmingham-adult-education-service
Faster Typer
5 5
Hotcourses
Learn to Touch Type - Level 1 Award
by Ray - March 2014

Definitely helped improve the speed at which I type! Friendly, welcoming environment from both staff and other learners.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
birmingham-adult-education-service
Don't feel embarrassed anymore
5 5
Hotcourses
Computers - First Step
by Dancing_bear - February 2014

This course has really helped me start to use a computer and it was free too. I now don't feel embarrassed about not knowing anything about computers. The tutor was really friendly and didn't make me feel stupid for any of the questions I asked which was important to helping me learn.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
birmingham-adult-education-service
Disappointing :(
2 5
Hotcourses
Textiles - Patchwork, Quilting & Embroidery - Beg & Inter
by Enekpe - December 2013

This course would be more accurately described a sewing group for intermediate/ advanced students rather than a tutored class for beginners as there is minimal tuition & individuals work on their own projects asking for assistance as required. In its current format, this course doe not meet the objectives described in the advertised course outline. Embroidery is not adequately covered: the onus is on individual students to ask specific questions but as a beginner, more proactive guidance/instruction is needed by the tutor in this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
30 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
birmingham-adult-education-service
Exactly what I needed
4 5
Hotcourses
I.T.Q
by MikeK - January 2011

It was good to be in a classroom where I could work at my own pace and learn what I was interested in and wanted to know more about

Facilities

It wasn't state of the art but everything worked and was up to date

Student life

The rest of the class were friendly and supportive. No problems

Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
birmingham-adult-education-service
Intersting
4 5
Hotcourses
by Hannah - January 2009

I learned all that I expected to and the Tutor was efficient. The course did not guarentee the career pathway I asumed it would

Facilities

Good for disability access, pleasent surroundings and peaceful decor

Student life

Although I looked forward to my sessions as I had fun with my fellow students, there was not any "family" feeling

Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
birmingham-adult-education-service
badly run
1 5
Hotcourses
by Anon - December 2007

I did this course a few years ago, and the tutor was terrible. She was an untrained novice, who rather bizarrely seemed to find nudity a bit of a problem. Given that this was a life drawing course, painting from the nude, she really wasn't suitable for this job. She drove out three models in quick succession and helped generate an air of tension by not letting some friendly casual banter with the models (common to life drawing), which is helpful to aleviate any uncomfortableness with having a nude person in the room. I have no idea if the same tutor is still running these lessons. I hope not.

Facilities

The classroom was okay, but a little knock-together from a school room.

Student life

The tutor drove students away as well as models. We lost over half the class very soon, as she didn't adapt to our needs, and was quite offputting. This isn't really the students I'm complaining about, but the mood left was just awful.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
birmingham-adult-education-service
still life course
5 5
Hotcourses
by Anon - November 2007

an easy course, very helpful and has broadened my skills

Facilities

large classroom

Student life

friendly mix of students

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.