African Cultural Association Reviews

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

37 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Personal service

Great personal one on one service for the first class, and actually got to learn...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Buy a voucher

Course provider overview

Share your opinions

Write a review

African Cultural Association Reviews

37 reviews

(84%)
(11%)
(5%)
5 5
African Cultural Association

Average student ranking

Course reviews at this provider

african-cultural-association
Terrific Class - I can sew!
5 5
Hotcourses
by Leslie - November 2013

This is a such a fantastic class and I am so pleased I've signed up. I learned so much in even my first lesson and I now have some useful new sewing skills. Marjorie is a patient and encouraging professional who gives clear and detailed instructions. I am definitely coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
African Hair Braiding and Weaving Classes
5 5
Hotcourses
NATURAL HAIR WEAVING AND BRAIDING CLASSES – ( 3 HOURS COURSE) (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Denise - July 2013

I have struggled with braiding for many years and tried desperately to teach myself and with no success. I have attended other workshops and even tried to learn from friends but I just could not get the hang of it. I did not have high expectations of this workshop as I just could not get my head around it however two and a half hours later I could confidently braid single plats, twists and canerow. Rose (the instructor) went through the fundamentals with me and she was very patience. Very good teacher. I was shown other techniques - tree braids, tree canerows, braiding and twisting with extensions and Rose went over the steps I had to do if I wanted to become a professional. Have already recommended this class to friends and I will be attending again too as there is loads more to learn.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Outstanding result!!!
5 5
Hotcourses
ASSORTED BAG MAKING AND LEARN HOW TO MAKE BAG MAKING PATTERNS FOR DIFFERENT TYPE OF BAGS
by Deborah - April 2013

You are taught from basic techniques to advance within a short time. Easy to understand the teaching methods and you are taught how to design your bag, pattern make,cut and sew including fabric layout and design to final finish. Its fantastic and rewarding!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Dressmaking/Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes
4 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by judith - June 2012

I have been coming to this class since the end of March 2012 as a complete beginner and it is a relaxed yet informative course. Your experience will be tailor made for your abilities and you get to meet different people at different stages of the course. Whether you are a beginner or more experienced you will learn new things. Try and bring a basic sewing kit to your first lesson. After 8 lessons I have made pyjama trousers, a long pencil skirt and I am in the process of making a more complex skirt with pleats, zip and pockets. I am really enjoying this new hobby of mine!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
My student experience
5 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes
by Maria - June 2012

An affordable course in a friendly atmosphere where you can learn and understand the basics of dressmaking and pattern designing, achieve quick results to start with and progress at your own pace (the structure of the course is quite flexible)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Student Review
5 5
Hotcourses
by Nana - June 2012

The tutors are very well qualified and with good many years experience in Fashion and Dressmaking techniques because just within 2 weeks, I can cut patterns and sew even though I stanted as a beginner!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Student Experience
5 5
Hotcourses
by mp - May 2012

As a beginner; I learnt a lot of sewing techniques and pattern cutting. The teaching atmosphere is very friendly and sociable. I have now achieved my basic knowledge and wanted to continue. I am glad, I choose ACA.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
31-37 of 37 results