African Cultural Association

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

37 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Personal service

Great personal one on one service for the first class, and actually got to learn...more

See all reviews

Buy a voucher

About

About

African Cultural Association

The African Cultural Association (ACA) was registered in 1995 with the Charity Commission as a non-profit making organisation. On the 4th of July 2014 The African Cultural Association was registered with the Charity Commission as a CIO (Charity Incorporated Organisation) to provide general advice and information and Provide Skill Training for Adult, Family and the Community in Greater London .
Our services cover advice on income support, housing, immigration, health, bereavement, employment, legal services and education( We give advice, guidance, training and support to the unemployed , lone parents - particularly promoting educational /recreational Activities as well as planning and arranging Courses and Projects for Youth and Adults from 7years to 70+ years. (We are UK Registered Learning Provider ) . In addition, the Association seeks to promote awareness of different cultures in multicultural Britain.

Through the provision of our services we encourage service users to come together to share their experiences and provide a support network for the community. By doing so, users not only forge friendships and learn from each other, but they also become better equipped to deal with future problems and are more aware of resources available to them.

The African Cultural Association has helped over 350,000+ people from diverse backgrounds to resolve problems and disputes and to help them to better cope with their day-to-day lives. Our service users come from all walks of life and we are proud to be able to offer specialist advice provided by experts in their field.

As part of our commitment to the wider community, we organise women's groups and youth-centred activities on a regular basis, and put together cultural activities during prominent black festivals and events e.g. Black History Month and the Notting Hill Carnival.

The African Cultural Association is also committed to working with the elderly, people with learning/physical disabilities, and those with mental health issues and special needs.

Share your opinions

Write a review

Course review summary

37 reviews

(84%)
(11%)
(5%)
5 5
African Cultural Association

Average student ranking

Course reviews at this provider

african-cultural-association
Terrific Class - I can sew!
5 5
Hotcourses
by Leslie - November 2013

This is a such a fantastic class and I am so pleased I've signed up. I learned so much in even my first lesson and I now have some useful new sewing skills. Marjorie is a patient and encouraging professional who gives clear and detailed instructions. I am definitely coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
African Hair Braiding and Weaving Classes
5 5
Hotcourses
African Hair Braiding and Weaving Classes (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Denise - July 2013

I have struggled with braiding for many years and tried desperately to teach myself and with no success. I have attended other workshops and even tried to learn from friends but I just could not get the hang of it. I did not have high expectations of this workshop as I just could not get my head around it however two and a half hours later I could confidently braid single plats, twists and canerow. Rose (the instructor) went through the fundamentals with me and she was very patience. Very good teacher. I was shown other techniques - tree braids, tree canerows, braiding and twisting with extensions and Rose went over the steps I had to do if I wanted to become a professional. Have already recommended this class to friends and I will be attending again too as there is loads more to learn.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Outstanding result!!!
5 5
Hotcourses
ASSORTED BAG MAKING AND LEARN HOW TO MAKE BAG MAKING PATTERNS FOR DIFFERENT TYPE OF BAGS
by Deborah - April 2013

You are taught from basic techniques to advance within a short time. Easy to understand the teaching methods and you are taught how to design your bag, pattern make,cut and sew including fabric layout and design to final finish. Its fantastic and rewarding!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Dressmaking/Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes
4 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by judith - June 2012

I have been coming to this class since the end of March 2012 as a complete beginner and it is a relaxed yet informative course. Your experience will be tailor made for your abilities and you get to meet different people at different stages of the course. Whether you are a beginner or more experienced you will learn new things. Try and bring a basic sewing kit to your first lesson. After 8 lessons I have made pyjama trousers, a long pencil skirt and I am in the process of making a more complex skirt with pleats, zip and pockets. I am really enjoying this new hobby of mine!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
My student experience
5 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes
by Maria - June 2012

An affordable course in a friendly atmosphere where you can learn and understand the basics of dressmaking and pattern designing, achieve quick results to start with and progress at your own pace (the structure of the course is quite flexible)

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Student Review
5 5
Hotcourses
by Nana - June 2012

The tutors are very well qualified and with good many years experience in Fashion and Dressmaking techniques because just within 2 weeks, I can cut patterns and sew even though I stanted as a beginner!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Student Experience
5 5
Hotcourses
by mp - May 2012

As a beginner; I learnt a lot of sewing techniques and pattern cutting. The teaching atmosphere is very friendly and sociable. I have now achieved my basic knowledge and wanted to continue. I am glad, I choose ACA.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
31-37 of 37 results