African Cultural Association Reviews

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

38 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Good

I did this class over the summer. It's a small class taught by 2 lovely & suppor...more

See all reviews

Get course info Visit website

Buy a voucher

Course provider overview

Share your opinions

Write a review

African Cultural Association Reviews

38 reviews

(82%)
(13%)
(5%)
5 5
African Cultural Association

Average student ranking

african-cultural-association
Personal service
4 5
Hotcourses
BEGINNERS CLOTH MAKING AND PATTERN CUTTING (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by basira - January 2017

Great personal one on one service for the first class, and actually got to learn how to stitch .

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Good
4 5
Hotcourses
by Lola - August 2017

I did this class over the summer. It's a small class taught by 2 lovely & supportive ladies .different skill levels taught from basics up.cost effective as well as you learn the same things at a fraction of the price of other course providers.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Excelent course
5 5
Hotcourses
CLOTH MAKING FOR BEGINNERS (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Neuza - December 2016

I really enjoyed my first day at the course, teachers very kind and patient, and very well directed content! I am looking forward for the next classes.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
Adult dressmaking
5 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Yvette - September 2016

Great atmosphere and great staff

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Children's dress course
5 5
Hotcourses
SPECIALISE IN CREATING BABIES AND CHILDREN EVERY DAY / SPECIAL WEAR (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Roberta - September 2016

I was a little apprehensive before going as my skills are limited. I needn't have worried they made me feel really welcome I made a babies dress fully lined, used an overlocker and learnt soon much. So excited I will be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
couture!!
5 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes
by Michelle - July 2016

Majorie is very knowledgeable. She explains slowly and goes at each persons pace, however long it takes. The finish with each garment /outfit, would stand up to anything. You could see my clothes at a high end store. now i can make my own clothes. I will update at the 12th lesson to chart my progress.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
very good! Pattern cutting lessons very good.
4 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes
by Samia - July 2016

It is a very good course and I have learned pattern cutting and dressmaking techniques. I learned learn how to cut patterns according to my size. now i understand why i made plenty of mistakes in the process of trying to make my own clothes before. I have already recommend this class to other people. Repairing and alterations that you cannot do, you can learn here. But alterations is not as easy , you think you know how to do it...but when you make a mistake you cannot take it back.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
Learning environment for women! Good for pensioner
5 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes
by Gresene - July 2016

The fashion, craft and dressmaking facilities are excellent!!! The teachers are very patient. I was never been able to do invisible zip, or cut a pattern to fit my body, but now I can. this class is very useful. I see myself making my clothes, because once you know your measurements you can cut out a pattern. I am on the 12 week course, I have been here for six weeks. . The price is very reasonable for pensioners. I come early so that I start on time, and the course instructors are always there ready. teaching instructors are very good they know their craft. students are pleasant. everyone gets on very well. I am hoping to be good enough to make clothes from grand-kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Well organised!
5 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes
by andreacrome@yahoo.co.uk - July 2016

Well organised and you get enough attention because there are not that many students. It is good for all levels and is easy to learn in a professional way, you can not necessarily make what you want straight away but they teach you the basics. The teaching plan is good. I have made a skirt, it has taken me 6 weeks, even though I did make some mistakes they have helped me. I will definitely recommend this class.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
Really eduacative
3 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes
by Anna - July 2016

The teaching is ok, but there are not enough teachers, so it is like African boxing as everybody is grabbing at the teacher. It is a class were you have to be patient. You know that the teachers know what they are doing though. But I definitely recommend this class to all levels. Most of the students are mature, everyone is patient and complying. The size of the classes are too much. In the last 3 weeks I have accomplished many things, I have the confidence to sew now. I can sew a skirt, I have been showing off the new things that I have made. Even after I finish this 12 week course, I will apply for another 12 weeks because I think it would be an advantage. Fashion is advancing everyday, so I need to keep coming to improve my skills.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1-10 of 38 results