African Cultural Association Reviews

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

33 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Very fun and creative!

I attended the African Gele / Head wrap workshop on Saturday (April 7). I was v...more

See all reviews

Buy a voucher

About

About

African Cultural Association

The African Cultural Association (ACA) was registered in 1995 with the Charity Commission as a non-profit making organisation. On the 4th of July 2014 The African Cultural Association was registered with the Charity Commission as a CIO (Charity Incorporated Organisation) to provide general advice and information and Provide Skill Training for Adult, Family and the Community in Greater London .
Our services cover advice on income support, housing, immigration, health, bereavement, employment, legal services and education( We give advice, guidance, training and support to the unemployed , lone parents - particularly promoting educational /recreational Activities as well as planning and arranging Courses and Projects for Youth and Adults from 7years to 70+ years. (We are UK Registered Learning Provider ) . In addition, the Association seeks to promote awareness of different cultures in multicultural Britain.

Through the provision of our services we encourage service users to come together to share their experiences and provide a support network for the community. By doing so, users not only forge friendships and learn from each other, but they also become better equipped to deal with future problems and are more aware of resources available to them.

The African Cultural Association has helped over 350,000+ people from diverse backgrounds to resolve problems and disputes and to help them to better cope with their day-to-day lives. Our service users come from all walks of life and we are proud to be able to offer specialist advice provided by experts in their field.

As part of our commitment to the wider community, we organise women's groups and youth-centred activities on a regular basis, and put together cultural activities during prominent black festivals and events e.g. Black History Month and the Notting Hill Carnival.

The African Cultural Association is also committed to working with the elderly, people with learning/physical disabilities, and those with mental health issues and special needs.

Share your opinions

Write a review

African Cultural Association Reviews

33 reviews

(82%)
(12%)
(6%)
5 5
African Cultural Association

Average student ranking

african-cultural-association
Very fun and creative!
5 5
Hotcourses
by Jenna - April 2018

I attended the African Gele / Head wrap workshop on Saturday (April 7). I was very excited to learn more about different types of African head wraps and how to improve my head wrapping technique. The ladies were so welcoming and very supportive! Our tutor was very knowledgeable and gave a detailed and practical demonstration for each head wrap. She showed me how to tie head wraps using different scarfs and fabrics, and which fabrics will work best for each style. I tried out every style on a dummy head and she gave me great tips and advice on how to improve the style and technique (how to braid the scarf and wrap, tucking in fabric effectively, how to tie the fabric securely). There was a lot of freedom to play around with the styles and she encouraged me to go with the flow and get creative! I loved the traditional Gele head wrap as it was the most challenging but I had so much fun with it and created my own design - the fabric is so beautiful to work with! I was even shown how to make a basic hat/cap template on the sewing machine, so I can attach head wraps on to them when I develop my ideas and practice more. I hope to book more courses very soon! Thank you so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
Box Braids
5 5
Hotcourses
NATURAL HAIR / AFRICAN HAIR WEAVING AND BRAIDING CLASSES – ( 3 HOURS COURSE)
by Gemma - February 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed my course! So helpful and informative. From this I have now started my own business in Box Braiding. Thank you so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Good
4 5
Hotcourses
by Lola - August 2017

I did this class over the summer. It's a small class taught by 2 lovely & supportive ladies .different skill levels taught from basics up.cost effective as well as you learn the same things at a fraction of the price of other course providers.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Personal service
4 5
Hotcourses
BEGINNERS CLOTH MAKING AND PATTERN CUTTING (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by basira - January 2017

Great personal one on one service for the first class, and actually got to learn how to stitch .

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Excelent course
5 5
Hotcourses
CLOTH MAKING FOR BEGINNERS (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Neuza - December 2016

I really enjoyed my first day at the course, teachers very kind and patient, and very well directed content! I am looking forward for the next classes.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
Adult dressmaking
5 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Yvette - September 2016

Great atmosphere and great staff

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Children's dress course
5 5
Hotcourses
SPECIALISE IN CREATING BABIES AND CHILDREN EVERY DAY / SPECIAL WEAR (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Roberta - September 2016

I was a little apprehensive before going as my skills are limited. I needn't have worried they made me feel really welcome I made a babies dress fully lined, used an overlocker and learnt soon much. So excited I will be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
couture!!
5 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes
by Michelle - July 2016

Majorie is very knowledgeable. She explains slowly and goes at each persons pace, however long it takes. The finish with each garment /outfit, would stand up to anything. You could see my clothes at a high end store. now i can make my own clothes. I will update at the 12th lesson to chart my progress.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
very good! Pattern cutting lessons very good.
4 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes
by Samia - July 2016

It is a very good course and I have learned pattern cutting and dressmaking techniques. I learned learn how to cut patterns according to my size. now i understand why i made plenty of mistakes in the process of trying to make my own clothes before. I have already recommend this class to other people. Repairing and alterations that you cannot do, you can learn here. But alterations is not as easy , you think you know how to do it...but when you make a mistake you cannot take it back.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
Learning environment for women! Good for pensioner
5 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes
by Gresene - July 2016

The fashion, craft and dressmaking facilities are excellent!!! The teachers are very patient. I was never been able to do invisible zip, or cut a pattern to fit my body, but now I can. this class is very useful. I see myself making my clothes, because once you know your measurements you can cut out a pattern. I am on the 12 week course, I have been here for six weeks. . The price is very reasonable for pensioners. I come early so that I start on time, and the course instructors are always there ready. teaching instructors are very good they know their craft. students are pleasant. everyone gets on very well. I am hoping to be good enough to make clothes from grand-kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
1-10 of 33 results