African Cultural Association

Trusted provider
Top rated provider

This badge shows that the course provider you are looking at has scored on average 4 or more out of 5 stars from at least 30 other users who have taken the time to post a review on Hotcourses

37 reviews
Recent reviews of this course provider

Personal service

Great personal one on one service for the first class, and actually got to learn...more

See all reviews

Buy a voucher

About

About

African Cultural Association

The African Cultural Association (ACA) was registered in 1995 with the Charity Commission as a non-profit making organisation. On the 4th of July 2014 The African Cultural Association was registered with the Charity Commission as a CIO (Charity Incorporated Organisation) to provide general advice and information and Provide Skill Training for Adult, Family and the Community in Greater London .
Our services cover advice on income support, housing, immigration, health, bereavement, employment, legal services and education( We give advice, guidance, training and support to the unemployed , lone parents - particularly promoting educational /recreational Activities as well as planning and arranging Courses and Projects for Youth and Adults from 7years to 70+ years. (We are UK Registered Learning Provider ) . In addition, the Association seeks to promote awareness of different cultures in multicultural Britain.

Through the provision of our services we encourage service users to come together to share their experiences and provide a support network for the community. By doing so, users not only forge friendships and learn from each other, but they also become better equipped to deal with future problems and are more aware of resources available to them.

The African Cultural Association has helped over 350,000+ people from diverse backgrounds to resolve problems and disputes and to help them to better cope with their day-to-day lives. Our service users come from all walks of life and we are proud to be able to offer specialist advice provided by experts in their field.

As part of our commitment to the wider community, we organise women's groups and youth-centred activities on a regular basis, and put together cultural activities during prominent black festivals and events e.g. Black History Month and the Notting Hill Carnival.

The African Cultural Association is also committed to working with the elderly, people with learning/physical disabilities, and those with mental health issues and special needs.

Share your opinions

Write a review

Course review summary

37 reviews

(84%)
(11%)
(5%)
5 5
African Cultural Association

Average student ranking

Course reviews at this provider

african-cultural-association
Beguinners dress making course
5 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Rosie - August 2014

Friendly atmosphere, helpful and attentive teaching, many good skills learnt on the course

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
BEGINNERS CLOTH MAKING AND PATTERN CUTTING course
5 5
Hotcourses
BEGINNERS CLOTH MAKING AND PATTERN CUTTING (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Marcus - May 2014

This course is great fun, friendly and a good place to learn especially for beginners. The teaching is very good, and you can ask advice from other students as well. Overall, I give 10/10!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
BEGINNERS CLOTH MAKING AND PATTERN CUTTING course
5 5
Hotcourses
BEGINNERS CLOTH MAKING AND PATTERN CUTTING (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Marcus - May 2014

Great course!! Excellent placce to learn sewing for brginners like myself! I give 10/10 !!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
BEGINNERS CLOTH MAKING AND PATTERN CUTTING
5 5
Hotcourses
BEGINNERS CLOTH MAKING AND PATTERN CUTTING (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Marcus - May 2014

Great teaching and relaxed atmosphere! A good place to be for beginners like myself. I give 10/10

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
BEGINNERS CLOTH MAKING AND PATTERN CUTTING
5 5
Hotcourses
BEGINNERS CLOTH MAKING AND PATTERN CUTTING (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Marcus - May 2014

First week a bit nervous, but soon overcame all this for fabulous intro to sewing. Did some seams, very easy!! Great teaching in a relaxed way. Brill !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
Amazing course
5 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes
by Elisa - May 2014

So far I have learned a lot of useful sewing techniques concerning dressmaking, pattern drawing and cutting and also craft sewing. I recommend the courses run by the African Cultural association because you can learn to make anything you like, from basic stuff to more complicated and the teacher are always there to help and support.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
Valuable knowledge from experienced tutor
4 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Kate - May 2014

Marjory's teaching style is very warm and generous. The facilities are homely and I can't wait to learn more about freehand pattern cutting techniques. I was inspired by Chinelo on BBC's Great British Sewing Bee to move on from making clothes using commercial paper patterns. The classes can be tailored (pardon the pun) to your experience and what you want to get out of the course. You can learn all the basics, from correct seams and finishing to inserting zips and pockets, but also learn tailoring techniques to design and make your own clothes - brilliant!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
Great
5 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Denise - March 2014

really great class at a great price. learn how to put on a zipper and do a french seam.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
african-cultural-association
Great braiding class ever !
5 5
Hotcourses
African Hair Braiding and Weaving Classes (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Annabelle - November 2013

I have struggled to learn how to braid for years. But as I am growing back my natural hair,I decided to give it another shot. The 3 hour class was worth every penny. The teacher was amazingly great,patient and encouraging. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxing...and I learnt so much! I just can't wait to go to the next class and learn more. I definitely recommand this class not matter if you are beginner,intermediate or advanced.The teacher adjusts the teaching to your level.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
african-cultural-association
Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes
5 5
Hotcourses
Adult Dressmaking / Fashion Design and Pattern Cutting Classes (Booked online with Hotcourses)
by Leslie - November 2013

This is the perfect course for me, because it's like being taught by a patient, loving auntie. I learned a whopping amount in my first two hours and left feelling super-confident. Marjorie and her team are kind, encouraging professionals and this is excellent value for money!

Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 Hotcourses user(s) found the following review helpful.
21-30 of 37 results